Clinical resources are distinct from more research-oriented databases in they are designed to be most often be used in point-of-care settings. Clinical tools support the following:
Clinical tools have these information aspects:
Below are overviews of two popular clinical tools, UpToDate and UpToDate Lexidrug.
UpToDate is an evidence-based point of care resource popular with health care providers. It provides current information based on high levels of evidence found in health care literature. The KU subscription includes access to the UpToDate app.
To learn more about UpToDate go through the slideshow below (use the double in the lower right to show in full-screen mode) and in the boxes below click on the purple pluses for more information about UpToDate's interface.
KU offers access to UpToDate's very useful app. See below for information and make sure you understand the 90 days issue.
UpToDate App
KU users of UpToDate have access to its app, available for Android and Apple users. You first need to create a personal 
account using your KU email within the database version. This provides other benefits, too, save as the ability to collect continuing education (CE) credits, save entries, and review your search history.
The app is useful and designed to be used in a time-sensitive clinical environment, allowing you look up entries on a mobile device without having to open the database itself and without having to log in each time you use it.
Among the app's features are a voice search. Like the database version, you will be able to build CMEs as you review entries.
NOTE: You will need to log into your database account (not the app itself) within every 90 days. This allows UpToDate to ensure you are still affiliated with KU.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is a point-of-care and clinical database focused on drugs. It is widely used in healthcare settings and its comprehensive information helps providers access critical drug information quickly and efficiently to support safe, effective patient care. Beyond in-depth drug information, it has tools to help you find interactions between drugs, identify unknown pills, provide patient education material in different languages, and run calculations with drug-related calculators.
It is from the same publisher as UpToDate and uses a similar interface, though unlike UpToDate KU does not provide access to the Lexidrug app.
While most information in Lexidrug is only available in English, some patient information for adults and children is offered in Arabic among other languages. See slide number 7 in the slideshow overview below for more information.