The KU Library offers a deep selection of medical books, both print and electronic books.
Below are a selection of titles that are related to the Tawjeeh Mentorship Program and can help you get started with and better understand medical research:
Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Healthcare by 
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care, 4th by
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence-based practice is, how to relate it to practice or use it in academic work. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book uses simple and easy to understand language to help those new to the topic. It provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence-based practice and how to apply this concept to your practice and learning.
Effective Writing for Healthcare Professionals by 
Great Discoveries in Medicine by
Great Discoveries in Medicine provides an unrivalled account of the evolution of medical knowledge and practice from ancient Egypt, India and China to today's latest technology, from letting blood to keyhole surgery, from the theory of humours to the genetic revolution. In this inspiring compendium an international team of distinguished experts explains medicine's turning points and conceptual changes in a refreshingly accessible way and answers some key questions. The book is magnificently illustrated throughout with a unique array of pictures, from Islamic manuscripts and Renaissance anatomical drawings to the very latest computer-generated images of viruses and photographs revealing the hidden world within our bodies. This timely volume is the best guide ever published to medicine's achievements and its prospects for the 21st century.
How to Read a Paper: the Basics of Evidence-Based Healthcare by
Learn to assess published research in this best-selling introduction to evidence-based healthcare Evidence-based practices have revolutionized medical care. Clinical and scientific papers have something to offer practitioners at every level of the profession, from students to established clinicians in medicine, nursing and allied professions. Novices are often intimidated by the idea of reading and appraising the research literature. How to Read a Paper demystifies this process with a thorough, engaging introduction to how clinical research papers are constructed and how to evaluate them. Now fully updated to incorporate new areas of research, readers of the seventh edition of How to Read a Paper will also find: A careful balance between the principles of evidence-based healthcare and clinical practice New chapters covering consensus methods, mechanistic evidence, big data and artificial intelligence Detailed coverage of subjects like assessing methodological quality, systemic reviews and meta-analyses, qualitative research, and more. How to Read a Paper is ideal for all healthcare students and professionals seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare - particularly those sitting undergraduate and postgraduate exams and preparing for interviews.
Medical Language: Immerse Yourself by
Medical Language: Immerse Yourself is grounded in immersive language learning. Rather than memorize vocabulary, you'll experience the sights and sounds of health care as you listen, speak, write, examine and think. To reinforce learning, the text offers a greater quantity and variety of exercises than any other publication of its kind. Hands-on practice offers practical exposure to real-world healthcare tasks. Chapter review exercises include analysis of real medical reports, as well as role-play activities prompting you to describe a patient's condition using medical language. Organized by medical specialty, the 5th Edition has been regrouped into 15 chapters designed for a 16-week course. Each chapter now consists of 5 sections correlated with learning outcomes. Practice Laps at the end of each section gauge your comprehension by learning outcome.
Medical Terminology: A Living Language by 
Public Health 101 by
From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen. Public Health 101: Improving Community Health, Fourth Edition by Riegelman and Kirkwood provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. Now with a greater emphasis on community involvement and providing community based-services, the fourth edition examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through a unique set of case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about public health issues and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Updated throughout, Public Health 101, Fourth Edition offers:* New case studies on folic acid and spina bifida, the opioid epidemic, athletic health injuries, mPox, and the patient safety movement.* Interactive COVID-19 case studies revised and consolidated to take an historical perspective on the COVID-19 pandemic.* Updated materials for each chapter including Healthy People 2030, pandemic prevention, new vaccines, environmental justice and climate change, and academic health departments.* New Boxes in each chapter including misinformation/disinformation, suicide, health advocacy, national dietary guidelines, and open notes.* Improving Population Health interactive exercises retained from 3rd edition* Updated faculty resources, including Instructor's Manual with sample answers to most case studies, test bank, sample examinations, sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and videos with annotations for each chapter.* Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Researching Language and Health: A Student Guide by
*the only book to focus on research methods in language and healthcare communication in an accessible textbook format *ideal core text for all courses on healthcare communication and recommended reading for a range of courses in applied linguistics, language for the professions etc; this is a growing area due to increasing focus on communication in professions such as healthcare *foregrounds impact : immediately involves readers in the kinds of questions or issues that are of interest in the field and the impact that linguistic studies can have
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 25th by
Taber's brings meanings to life. The all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinical, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 25 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars! "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have."--Kelly, Online Reviewer Five Stars! Best medical dictionary! "I absolutely love this medical dictionary! It is worth the price. I bought the other cheaper one and have to say compared to this one it is disappointing. Spend the money and get this! You won't regret it!!!"--Online Reviewer Great book! "The Taber's medical dictionary is the best out there. It's good to know that I can look in the dictionary and get the information that I need on a medical condition. Thank you Taber's."--Marilyn H., Online Reviewer EVERYTHING A NURSING STUDENT NEEDS "My school did not recommend this book, but I remembered this book from LPN school and how much it helped with care planning. It's much easier to carry than all the textbooks to clinicals too! LOVE this newest version too!!"--Melissa A. B., Online Reviewer Nursing school life saver. "This book has been a great for my clinical experience databases. I love how it's broken into sections for easy access and understanding. My school offers an electronic edition for free to us, but I like hard copy books."--P.M., Online Reviewer Gotta Have It! "I have thoroughly used this dictionary already in my schooling! I am sure it will help me in many days to come."--Christina M., Online Reviewer Great book. "I use it for nursing school during my clinicals and it is perfect."--Online Reviewer 75,000+ terms--Put the language of health care at your fingertips in class, clinical, and practice. Full-color illustrations--Make often complex concepts easier to understand with detailed illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders that focus on their distinguishing features. Tools for clinical success--Integrate must-have information when you need it. Patient Care Statements--Summaries detailing assessment, treatment, and patient teaching requirements Caution/Safety Statements--An easy-to-find icon highlighting information critical to safe patient care Disease/Disorder Entries--Concise descriptions summarizing diagnosis, signs and symptoms, etiology, treatments, and prognosis Resources online at FADavis.com--Tap into a wealth of learning resources and professional tools. 30,000 Audio pronunciations--Your source for building speaking confidence Appendices--Rarely memorized information, including normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish
The Trajectory of Discovery by
Medical research works in trajectories. Scientists and researchers must choose to pursue certain scientific pathways and omit others, limited by resources, attention, and time. The trajectory of medical progress is therefore characterized by two crucial characteristics: rate and direction. These two components form the foundation for this book - what are the forces that determine the rate and direction of progress in medicine? This book brings together the worlds of scientific policy, economics, sociology, philosophy, and innovation to describe why the world of medical research looks the way it does. The book also addresses fundamental contemporary issues in medicine, how they influence progress, and how we might improve medical research going forward. The contemporary issues discussed include: flawed incentive structures, a concentration of power and resources among few actors and disease groups, the potential distortionary effects of lobbying by different scientific actors, and missing novelty in drug development.