Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Chemistry: Books and Dissertations

This subject guide is to help you get started doing research using any KU library resources and materials, and it's designed to match your curriculum and assignments

eBooks

Knovel

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering. Nanotechnology collection has been recently added.

Knovel requires each user to create their personal log-in to access this collection of eBooks.

CRC Netbase

Searches over 1,300 textbooks and handbooks from the following databases: CivilEngineeringnetBASE, ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE, MechanicalEngineeringnetBASE, and TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE.

Science Direct Ebooks

Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines,books are now fully integrated with journals, book series, handbooks and reference works on ScienceDirect. Spanning subject collections within the science and technology disciplines, the ScienceDirect eBooks Frontlist collection is an increasingly significant source of relevant, quality content.

Subject Search

You will find books and other material of interest and relevance to Physical Chemistry in different areas throughout the Library. Listed below are popular terms that are used in the study of Chemistry. Note that some words are related and are found near each other on the shelves.

Chemical Kinetics

Chemistry,Physical and Theoretical

Electrochemistry

Quantum Chemistry

Thermochemistry

Physical Chemistry Reference Books

Useful Call Numbers

Books and other material of interest and relevance to Physical Chemistry can be found in different areas throughout KU libraries. Listed below are important Library of Congress Call Number (LCCN) areas that are used in the study of Chemistry. 

QD450-901                          Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

QD462                                 Quantum Chemistry

QD466-471                          Chemical Elements and Chemical Compounds

QD506-509                          Surface Chemistry

QD510-536                          Thermochemistry

QD540-549                          Theory of Solution

QD551-578                          Electrochemistry. Electrolysis

QD655-731                          Photochemistry

QD875-882                          Mechanical Chemistry. Supermolecular Chemistry

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Theses, dissertations and student projects at KU is in progress to add all under University library repository.

Theses and dissertations from other institutions:

EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Abstracts

1861 to date, with abstracts from July 1980. Covers over 2,700,000 titles.
This database has a US-bias and is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research in the US.

Australasian Digital Theses Program

A distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. Full text of some theses is available.

Theses Canada Portal

The access point for Canadian theses and information about the Theses Canada program. Full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations are available.

DART-Europe

Access to over 100,000 full-text research theses from various European countries