Continuing Medical Education
Organizations
Blueprints Family Medicine by
Blueprints Family Medicine provides a complete, yet succinct review of the key concepts and topics that students need to know for a four- to six-week family medicine clerkship. With its concise, well-organized format, it serves as an ideal rapid reference for day-to-day patient care as well as subject examinations and board review. Updates throughout reflect the most current treatment and management strategies. A new section covers the 25 drugs most commonly prescribed in the primary care setting. Case vignettes demonstrate clinical applications. 100 USMLE-style review questions, with full explanations, facilitate exam preparation. Key Points at the end of each chapter summarize important information. Clinical boxes highlight clinical manifestations, differential diagnoses, and treatment options. A helpful appendix provides easy access to evidence-based resources.
Case Files Family Medicine, 5th by
Case Files: Family Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in patient care. Each case begins with a vignette accompanied by relevant open-ended questions designed to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to family medicine. The answers that follow emphasize mechanisms and underlying principles. This sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life family medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Conn's Current Therapy 2021 by
Designed to suit a wide range of healthcare providers, including primary care, subspecialties, and allied health, Conn's Current Therapy has been a trusted clinical resource for well over 70 years. The 2021 edition continues this tradition of excellence with current, evidence-based treatment information presented in a concise yet in-depth format. More than 300 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art information in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new and significantly revised chapters on COVID-19, Diabetes Mellitus in Adults, Chronic Leukemias, and Osteomyelitis. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2020 by 
Essentials of Family Medicine by
A staple of family medicine training for 30 years, Essentials of Family Medicine offers a comprehensive introduction to this specialty designed just for clerkship students. Covering principles of family medicine, preventive care, and a full range of common ambulatory care problems, it provides all the guidance you need to succeed on a clinical rotation in family medicine. This 7th Edition features many significant changes, including a new, stronger focus on the hands-on "how-tos" of family medicine...a great deal of new coverage related to direct care, the context of care, and community medicine...input from a new Student Advisory Board to ensure the practicality and utility of the content... and many other key updates to keep Essentials of Family Medicine as relevant as possible for today's practice. You'll appreciate its user-friendly writing style, focus on common clinical problems, and use of case studies to illustrate practical applications of key concepts. Meet the challenges of contemporary practice with many brand-new chapters and updates throughout. Effectively navigate the challenges you'll face in your clerkship thanks to a new emphasis on how to approach specific situations. Enjoy content that's optimized for your needs through input from an advisory team of 4th-year medical students. See how concepts apply to practice with chapter-opening case studies, and build your clinical skills with clinical questions and case discussions that simulate the patient encounter.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020 by 
Handbook of Primary Care Ethics by
With chapters revolving around practical issues and real-world contexts, this Handbook offers much-needed insights　into the ethics of primary healthcare. An international set of contributors from a broad range of areas in ethics and practice address a challenging array of topics. These range from the issues arising in primary care interactions, to working with different sources of vulnerability among patients, from contexts connected with teaching and learning, to issues in relation to justice and resources. The book is both interdisciplinary and inter-professional, including not just 'standard' philosophical clinical ethics but also approaches using the humanities, clinical empirical research, management theory and much else besides. This practical handbook will be an invaluable resource for anyone who is seeking a better appreciation and understanding of the ethics 'in', 'of' and 'for' primary healthcare. That includes clinicians and commissioners, but also policymakers and academics concerned with primary care ethics. Readers are encouraged to explore and critique the ideas discussed in the 44 chapters; whether or not readers agree with all the authors' views, this volume aims to　inform, educate and, in many cases, inspire. Chapter 4 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 3.0 license. https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/tandfbis/rt-files/docs/Open+Access+Chapters/9781498769679_oachapter4.pdf
Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice by
Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice provides a simple, straightforward model for designing effective nutrition education programs that address the personal and environmental influences affecting individuals' food choices and assists them in adopting healthy behaviors throughout their lifetime. Built around the six-step DESIGN process, the Fourth Edition integrates research, theory, and practice and provides advice and direction on designing, implementing, and evaluating theory-based nutrition education. This text is divided into three parts: Part I describes the key elements of success for nutrition education, as well as the major theories that can be used in nutrition education interventions. Part II features the 6-step process for designing nutrition education, translating theory into concrete objectives and strategies that can be practically implemented. It includes worksheets and case studies to provide a clear illustration of each step. Part III describes the nuts and bolts of implementing nutrition education, including information on leading groups, working with diverse populations, making presentations, and using media effectively.
(Note: Links require log into KU Library)