Senior Design: Articles

Search it all with Summon!

• Conduct a search
• Limit to full-text and articles

NOTE:  Summon does NOT search

• ACS
• ANS
• Brill Encyclopedia
• EBSCO - partially
• Engineering case studies online
• Gale Global Issues in Context
• Gale Virtual Reference Library

Some databases are just INDEXES. 

• They point you to references
• They do not have full-text
• Web of Knowledge and Scopus are examples

Some databases are all full-text

• Everything indexed is available online
• IEEE Xplore is an example

Some databases are a hybrid

• EBSCO is an example
• Only 67% of the references include full-text

General databases - publishers - full-text journals

• Cambridge University Press (CUP)
• Elsevier Science Direct
• Emerald
• Nature journals
• Springer 
• Taylor & Francis

General databases - aggregators

• Ebsco  Academic Search Complete, and Applied Sciences & Technology Source (60% full-text)

General databases - indexes (no full-text but with links to our collections) 

• Scopus (21,000 titles)
• Web of Knowledge (12,000 titles)
• Google Scholar

Subject databases

• AERO:  AIAA ARC (Aerospace Research Central)
   
• BMED:  AAAS Science Journals and PubMed (index) or PubMed Central (full-text)
  
  See http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/dif_med_pub.html for further information about the differences between Medline, PubMed, and PubMedCentral or PMC.
   
• CHEM:  ACS (American Chemical Society)* and SciFinder
   
• CIVE:  ASCE Library (American Society of civil Engineers)
   
• COMP and ELCE:  ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) and IEEE Xplore and APS (American Physical Society) and IOP (Institute of Physics)
   
• ISYE:  Informs
   
• MATH:   AMS (American Mathematical Society).  See library e-resources page at http://www.kustar.ac.ae/pages/eresources#a for links.
   
• MECH:  ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
  
  *Not indexed in OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search across most databases.  OneSearch provides links to our content.  If the links don't work, search the title in the specific database.

The Open Access movement opens access to non-subscribed material.

• arXiv.org provides pre-prints (before publication) to papers in physics, math, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics
  
  
• BioMed Central
  
  
• DOAJ  (Directory of Open Access Journals)
  
  
• Check also the Free Online Resources libguide.