Skip to Main Content
Why books?
- Books take a while to write and publish, so the information is "old"
- Books are good for background information
- Books are good for in-depth coverage of a topic
- There's a handbook for just about every topic from circuits and filters to biomaterials
Encyclopedias!
- Handy for looking up definitions and background information
- Some are in paper in the library's reference collection
- Access Science is online
- Same as McGraw Hills' Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
- Includes more stuff like videos and biographies
Searching for books
Three ways to find books
- Check the library catalog
- It lists all the books, print and online.
- It doesn't search the text, just the book titles, subject headings, and chapter titles if any (metadata)
- Try the ebook databases to search inside the books
- Access Engineering (lots of McGraw Hill handbooks, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook or Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
- CRCnetBASE - 75 selected titles in biomedical, chemical, civil, computer science, electrical, energy, environmental science, IT, materials science, mathematics, mechanical, nano, physics, and water. (Check box for Full Access Content Only.)
- ebrary - 120,000 ebooks on lots of topics including engineering
- Ebsco ebooks - 150,000 ebooks on diverse topics including over 3,000 engineering books
- Elsevier books - 2012 and 2013. Use Advanced search to limit to subscribed publications
- Knovel - engineering ebooks plus interactive graphs, tables and charts. (Click on My Subscription to get subscribed content.)
- Safari books online - 30,000 books online on information technology and business
- Springer books online - 43,777 science, technology and medicine 2005-2015 (uncheck Preview-Only content box)
- Try OneSearch - our discovery tool
- It searches everything at once - well, almost everything
- After you search, limit the results to books
