Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical Engineering: Books and Dissertations

Library information and resources for the Chemical Engineering Program.

Need Help?

If you need additional help feel free to contact the Library staff at:

 

Phone:

02-401-8132 Main Campus Library

02-607-5879 Arzanah Library

02-607-5802 Habshan Library

 

Or email us at:

libse@ku.ac.ae

Interlibrary Loans

The Khalifa University staff, students and faculty have multiple options for Interlibrary Loan that significantly expand the number of materials available to them.

To request a book or an article we don't have in our collection please fill this request form:

Interlibrary Loan Request Form

If you have any questions regarding your request, send an email to ill@ku.ac.ae or call the Library Circulation Desk, 02 810 9051

eBooks

Knovel

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering. Nanotechnology collection has been recently added.

Knovel requires each user to create their personal log-in to access this collection of eBooks.

CRC Netbase

Searches over 1,300 textbooks and handbooks from the following databases: CivilEngineeringnetBASE, ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE, MechanicalEngineeringnetBASE, and TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE.

Science Direct Ebooks

Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines,books are now fully integrated with journals, book series, handbooks and reference works on ScienceDirect. Spanning subject collections within the science and technology disciplines, the ScienceDirect eBooks Frontlist collection is an increasingly significant source of relevant, quality content.

Subject Search

You will find books and other material of interest and relevance to Chemical Engineering in different areas throughout the Library. Listed below are popular terms that are used in the study of Chemistry. Note that some words are related and are found near each other on the shelves.

Catalysis

Chemical engineering

Chemical industry

Chemicals

Combustion

Electrochemistry

Environmental Engineering

Fluid Mechanics

Fuel

Membrane

Petroleum Refining

Polymers

Process Simulation

Reactivity (Chemistry)

Reactors

Separation Technology

Thermodynamics

Search Library Catalogue

To search for books, refrence books, DVD, software and other items available in the KU Libraries please go to the Library Catalog:

Library:      Power Search

Chemical Engineering Reference Books

Useful Call Numbers

Books and other material of interest and relevance to Physical Chemistry can be found in different areas throughout the Library. Listed below are important Library of Congress Call Number (LCCN) areas that are used in the study of Chemistry. A brief outline that explains the LCCN and subject headings is available from the PI Library website (http://www.pi.ac.ae/library/images/documents/lcc.pdf). A more detailed list is available from the Library of Congress at http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco.

HD9560-9663 Chemical Industries
QC319.8 Heat Transfer (Physics)
QD281 Catalysis – Organic Chemistry
QD505 Catalysis – Inorganic Chemistry
QD565 Electrochemistry
QD503 Chemical Equilibrium, Phase Rule
QD901 Fluid Mechanics – Crystallography
TA357 Applied Fluid Mechanics (General Engineering)
TD500-780 Sewage Collection and Disposal Systems
TD881-TD883 Air Pollution
TN879.56 Petroleum Pipelines – Fluid Mechanics
TP155-TP156 Chemical Engineering – Mass Transfer
TP200-TP248 Chemicals
TP690-TP692.5 Mineral Oils and Waxes
TP751-TP762 Oil & Gas Processing/Gas Industry

Finding Dissertations and Theses

 

Theses and dissertations from other institutions:

EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Abstracts

1861 to date, with abstracts from July 1980. Covers over 2,700,000 titles.
This database has a US-bias and is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research in the US.

Australasian Digital Theses Program

A distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. Full text of some theses is available.

Theses Canada Portal

The access point for Canadian theses and information about the Theses Canada program. Full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations are available.

DART-Europe

Access to over 100,000 full-text research theses from various European countries