Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical Engineering: Online Databases

Library information and resources for the Chemical Engineering Program.

Need Help?

If you need additional help feel free to contact the Library staff at:

Phone:

02-401-8132 Main Campus Library

02-607-5879 Arzanah Library

02-607-5802 Habshan Library

Or email us at:

libse@ku.ac.ae

Find An Article Using Summon

You can use Summon to find an article.

Search Summon

What is Summon™? 

It is our new unified discovery service. Summon™ allows the researcher to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content. It goes beyond federated search, beyond next-generation catalogs to create an all-new service for libraries. Through one simple Google-like search, it provides instant access to the breadth of authoritative content - digital and print, audio and video, single articles to entire e-journals, etc.

Using Summon (video)

Basic Search Screen

Advanced Search Screen

Find An Article Using Google Scholar

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.



ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing access to over 28 million structures, properties and associated information.

www.chemspider.com

Ebsco Online Tutorials

Use these online tutorials to help you get started in using EbscoHost databases

 

For detalied list of tutorials click here:

EbscoHost Tutorials

 

sciFinder Tutorials

Introduction to Reference Searching (15 minute module).

http://www.cas.org/etrain/scifinder/introref.html

Introduction to Substance Searching (15 minute module).

http://www.cas.org/etrain/scifinder/introsub.html

Introduction to Reaction Searching (15 minute module).

http://www.cas.org/etrain/scifinder/introrxn.html

Other tutorials and help sheets are available at:

http://www.cas.org/training/scifinder

Search Journal Titles

If you are looking for certain citation and would like to get a full text article try searching Journals A-Z to see in which database indexes the journal you are looking for.

Key Library Databases for Chemical Engineering Research

Databases are very reliable sources of information that help you trace information from many sources. Common resources are journals, reports, dissertations, conference proceedings and books. The databases contain hundreds of thousands of full-text materials. Many databases can be accessed remotely while some only have on-campus access. Lists of databases are arranged alphabetically and by subject and contain log in information.

ACS Journals

This database contains over 40 full-text journals that are published by the American Chemical Association. Archives date back to volume one for all publications.

CHEMnetBASE

This database includes Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD), Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, and, Properties of Organic Compounds.

Combined Chemical Dictionary

Chapman & Hall/CRC Combined Chemical Dictionary is a database of information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical, and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. 

Compendex (accessed via Engineering Village 2)

Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers. With 12 million records across 190 engineering disciplines, Compendex delivers the comprehensive, precise information and insights that researchers need. Available through Engineering Village. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering,Civil Engineering,Electrical Engineering,Mechanical Engineering,Mining Engineering.

CRC Polymers: A Property Database

This database contains descriptions and references for several polymers.

Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds

This database contains 25,000 of the most popular and most cited compounds in Chemical Abstracts. It covers drugs, organic compounds, solvents, natural products, analytical reagents, inorganic compounds, materials, the elements, and their isotopes. The database is fully substructure searchable, and contains chemical names, physical properties and bibliographic references.

Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds

This database that contains over 101,000 representative organometallic, inorganic, and coordination compounds. It includes names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) Registry Numbers, synthesis, physical properties, and key literature citations.

Dictionary of Natural Products

This database contains over 170,000 natural products. Data include names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, uses and applications, physical state, melting point, boiling point, pKa, and key literature citations. A compound classification scheme brings together compounds that are biogenetically related.

Dictionary of Organic Compounds

This database contains concise chemical, structural, and citations on over 255,000 of the most important organic compounds. It includes a wide range of commonly used chemicals, synthetic reagents, pesticides, natural products, etc. Data include formulae, chemical structures, physical properties. 

EBSCOHost

Also available for access with iPhones, Blackberry’s and other PDA’s thru EBSCOHost on Your Mobile EBSCOHost contains over 14,000 publications (book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and essays). There are also almost 5,000 full-text reviewed journals with some archives back to almost 100 years. EBSCOHost covers numerous topics including education, computer sciences, engineering, environment, history, physics, political science, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies. .

Engineering Village 2

It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts starting from 1969 in the applied science, technical and engineering fields including Compendex, INSPEC, and Scirus. 

Environment Complete
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

Another EBSCOHost database that covers ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution & waste management, and environmental technology. The database contains more than 1,772,000 citations from more than 1,680 journal titles as well as more than 100 books. The database also contains full text articles from more than 650 journals.

General Science Collection
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back to 1992.

Inspec
(Accessed via Engineering Village 2)

This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back to 1992.

Knovel

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering.

Merck Index (Accessed via Knovel)

The online version of the printed 13th Edition of The Merck Index. It is an internationally recognized, one-volume encyclopaedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Each record discusses a single chemical entity or a small group of very closely related compounds. Updates contain material not yet available in print.

OnePetro

Contains citations from over 60,000 documents that are published by the American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), NACE International, Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), and World Petroleum Council (WPC). Full-text documents are only available from SPE and OTC.

Papers Invited

The database consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research.

Petroleum Abstracts
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

The Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database provides citations and abstracts in the areas of global petroleum exploration and production, transport, and storage. Topics include geology, geophysics, geochemistry, development drilling, well completion, servicing, petroleum recovery, environmental and energy related topics. There are over 1 million entries dating over 50 years. Information is from 300 journals and 200 conference proceedings worldwide, patents, government documents, dissertations, books, etc. There is a concurrent database user limit of four (4) people. 

Properties of Organic Compounds

Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. The database can be used in identifying unknown compounds or for locating additional data and references for a known compound.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Sciences & Engineering Collection

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses contains over 1.3 million citations in the Sciences and Engineering disciplines. There are over 1,000 citations of graduate works published before 1900. The database has over 650,000 full-text PDF dissertations and theses including over 400,000 published after 1997.

RSC Publishing

Royal Society of Chemistry database contain 992,736 articles from several journals, full-text books and databases using one simple interface and refine your results through intuitive filters. Topic includes physical chemistry, polymer chemistry, analytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, and many other topics related to chemical science. Chemical Engineering Library Guide 10

Science Direct

Elsevier's Science Direct database contains hundreds of thousands of full-text journal articles from over 900 journals in the physical sciences and engineering. Archived coverage is back to volume one, number one for all titles dating back over 60 years in some cases. The eight subject collections are: chemical engineering; chemistry; earth & planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; mathematics; physics & astronomy.

Science Direct Ebooks

Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines, Elsevier publications including those published under the renowned Pergamon and Academic Press imprints, over 10,000 books are now fully integrated with journals, book series, handbooks and reference works on ScienceDirect. Spanning subject collections within the science and technology disciplines, the ScienceDirect eBooks Frontlist collection is an increasingly significant source of relevant, quality content.

Science Reference Center
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

This EBSCOHost database contains full text material from nearly nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, journals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, technology and wildlife.


Scifinder 

This CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) database includes references from over 9,500 currently published journals. Patent citations come from over 50 active patent issuing authorities with some discoveries dating back to 1900. The latest scientific breakthroughs are referenced and include biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and a large collection of organic and inorganic substance information. Online registration required first for on-campus access only.

Scirus

One of the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Scopus


The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.

Web of Science

ISI's Web of Science (WOS) database contains citations and abstracts (with some full-text documents) from over 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Coverage is from 1997 to the present. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions (CCR), and Index Chemicus (IC).

20 Top Chemical Engineering Journals

Top 20 Chemical Engineering journals ranked by ISI Thomson's 2011 JCR Impact Factor.

What is Impact Factor?

Impact Factor is the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR (Journal Citation Reports) year. Learn more:

Detailed list is available at:

http://admin-apps.webofknowledge.com/JCR/JCR

  1. Energy, Education, Science and Technology
    ISSN 1301-8361
  2. Progress in Energy and Combustion Sciences
    ISSN 0360-1285
  3. Energy & Environmental science
    ISSN 1754-5692
  4. Annual Review of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    ISSN 1947-5438
  5. Journal of Catalysis
    ISSN 0021-9517
  6. Applied Catalysis. B, Environmental
    ISSN 0926-3373
  7. Applied Energy
    ISSN 0306-2619
  8. Journal of Membrane Science
    ISSN 0376-7388
  9. Proceedings of the Combustion Institute
    ISSN 1540-7489
  10. Combustion and Flame
    ISSN 0010-2180
  11. Chemical Engineering Journal
    ISSN 1385-8947
  12. Catalysis Today
    ISSN 0920-5861
  13. Fuel
    ISSN 0016-2361
  14. Dyes and Pigments
    ISSN 0143-7208
  15. Fuel processing technology
    ISSN 0378-3820
  16. Separation and Purification Technology
    ISSN 1383-5866
  17. Journal of Supercritical Fluids
    ISSN 0896-8446
  18. Energy & Fuels
    ISSN 0887-0624
  19. Aerosol Science and Technology
    ISSN 0278-6826
  20. Biochemical Engineering Journal
    ISSN 1369-703X