Skip to Main Content

BOOKENDS January 2021, Volume 4, Issue 2

FEATURE ARTICLE: UAE University Libraries

UAE University established two research-oriented libraries: the Main Library, founded in 1976, and the National Medical Library, founded in 1985 and refurbished in 1997. which is dedicated to support teaching and research activities in health science and allied fields. Both libraries are under the management of the Libraries Deanship and operate in a dynamic, multicultural information society.

The Libraries Deanship incorporates library information and communication technology (ICT) to implement new e-services for remote users, and to keep pace with rapid changes in the field. To meet the ICT challenges of our rapidly changing times, the Library Deanship re-focused its mission "to build, organize, and provide access to an enduring collection of recorded knowledge and information in a wide variety of forms and formats for supporting the needs of the virtual users, e-learning, and scholarly research; to incorporate in e-literacy through spreading digital culture among the community”. To achieve this mission, the Deanship developed resources and capabilities to become better able to respond to the increased learning and research demands of quality scholarly information.

UAEU library is going through a paradigm shift, switching from print-based to digital formats. This change has raised the need for developing interactive web portals and navigational tools to access various online services and e-resources through both authenticated and free resources, as shown in Figure 1 (Different routes and access to various Library holdings and services). Alternatively, the Libraries witnessed milestone development of library technologies to advance the library services and functions, rooting their involvement in the university community, as shown in Table 1.

LIBRARY EVENTS

KU Libraries held many events over the course of the Fall 2020 semester. Here are some short highlights:

Open Access at IEEE: Procedures for Authors, 23 September 2020

These hour-long sessions discussed how authors can publish their articles in IEEE Open Access journals. Authors were shown the tools that IEEE provides for authors, and the process for getting the university to cover the publication charges was explained.

Quiz Night, 19 October 2020

Librarian Walter Hall hosted a two-hour evening of fun and informative interactive quizzes for students. The quizzes covered a wide range of topics, including Roman History, Animated Movies, Literature, and Star Wars.

How to Publish and Promote Your Research, 24 November 2020

Getting academic research published can be hard. Just choosing the right journal for your research is difficult and time-consuming. Even when you do manage to get an article published, you might discover you are paying high fees to a predatory publisher who does not provide a good level of service. To address these and many other issues, the KU Libraries collaborated with the Knowledge E team to host an English and Arabic webinar with expert advice on how to publish and promote research.

Book Discussion: The Bamboo Stalk, 25 November 2020

Librarian Muna Abdulla led a spirted discussion of the book “The Bamboo Stalk”. The novel tells the story of Jose, a child of mixed Kuwaiti-Filipino parentage, who struggles to find his way in the world with his dual identity. If you are interested to read this fascinating book, get a copy from the Library!

You can always see all the upcoming events that the library is hosting at https://kustar.libcal.com/calendar/events.

E-RESOURCES SPOTLIGHT - Medical Databases

With the founding of the Medical School, the KU Library began adding medical resources to our list of electronic resources. We are working to expand the collection of medical resources. These databases cover topics such as medical education, journals and e-books in medicine, medical research, evidence-based practice, and clinical practice. Some current examples include:

  • AccessMedicine provides updated, point-of-care information and resources such as e- books, cases, diagnostic tools, and drug information. Access Medicine also includes study tools for medical students.

  • ClinicalKey gives you access to selected medical texts, journals, guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, videos, images and more.

  • JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) offers high-quality instructional videos in areas such as general medicine, biochemistry, genetics, and immunology.

  • Lecturio assists students preparing for medical exams including the USMLE and MCAT. Built-in study and learning support allows users to follow their learning progress.

  • PubMed recently updated its interface. Enhancements include a more responsive design to make it as easy as possible to access PubMed on mobile devices.

  • UpToDate is a popular, standard point-of-care tool to help medical practitioners find the most current information when working in clinical environments. It includes a variety of medical calculators, a drug interaction database, and features for easy bookmarking and sharing of information.

For a full list and more information on KU’s and free medical resources please visit: https://library.ku.ac.ae/az.php

For questions on how to use these and other medical resources or to make suggestions for new resources, please contact Library Services at libse@ku.ac.ae

 

FACULTY CORNER - Experiences of Undergraduate Student Researchers by Dr. Hwee Lim Ling

Engineering students lack opportunities to be involved in social sciences research.  In 2018, I was awarded the ADEK Award for Research Excellence for my project “Emirati Youths and Parents Perspectives on National Service in the United Arab Emirates”. This project utilized data collection methods such as surveys and individual and group interviews. The sample included Emirati parents and male youths who had not undergone National Service but were eligible to serve. My journey started with three undergraduates who developed into student researchers. They were Ahmed Khalid Alzaabi and the twin brothers Abdelaziz and Abdalla Khalid Almaeeni. All three graduated in 2019 and now work as engineers for ADNOC.

Reflections on experience from Ahmed Khalid Alzaabi: I joined the research team to improving my communication, social, and research skills. As an engineering student, communication skills are vital. Being part this team exposed me to the dynamics of conducting research.

My most memorable moment in the project was the problem of acquiring data. We brainstormed different approaches, seeking suitable solutions. It was fascinating how each member came up with different solutions. We analysed each solution. When we all provided solutions, I felt that we were a team. When we faced a problem, we worked together to solve it. I presented our findings to the 3rd Annual AARE Conference. Presenting exposed me to how conferences are conducted, and I learned how to summarize our findings, as I was restricted to just 5-minutes.

These skills still help me. I communicate my ideas and opinions by relating them to ADNOC’s values. I contribute to my team by organizing meetings, providing analysis of problems, and presenting presentations to management. After a year of work experience, I have contributed significantly to my workplace, according to my supervisor. Recently, I was awarded The Founding Leader Award - Distinguished University Student category (Bachelor’s). I believe what distinguished me was my role as a research assistant and co-author of two publications.

Reflections on experience from Abdelaziz Khalid Almaeeni: Being a research assistant is a learning opportunity, opening new paths to excellence. Meeting new people, collecting and analysing data, and having a voice the team was a remarkable journey.

My most memorable experience was approaching new people to collect data. I am shy by nature and my social skills are slightly limited. The project required me to collect data from strangers, and I found the courage to do so. As I interviewed subjects, the shyness slowly faded as new-found confidence took over. Participating in this project was one of my best decisions. I gained skills that helped me as an engineer and individual. My social skills grew and my time-management skills were enhanced. I learned how to work in teams and take instructions from my supervisor. Dealing with others was encouraging and fulfilling. Our communication determined their willingness to cooperate. The whole experience has made me more productive.

This work was empowering, fulfilling, and enjoyable. It added to my academic qualifications and equipped me with knowledge and skills for the future. I encourage students to participate in such projects. Research studies are applicable to all fields of study. One can gains much, such as communication and interpersonal skills, helpful in all spheres of life.

Reflections on experience from Abdalla Khalid Almaeeni: Many new experiences came with the project, such as learning to develop research tools and planning project stages. My most memorable moment in the project was when I had to convince people that participation would not harm them. I learned that acquiring participants for research was not a matter of counting people but rather approaching people, explaining the project to them, reassuring them of their safety, and communicating effectively.

The acquisition of new skills comes automatically with participation in a project, especially in research. I can confidently say that I acquired crucial skills from the project that are important to me in my career and personal life. I acquired excellent communication skills. I learned that communication was a vital element in data analysis and any miscommunication could interfere with findings. I also perfected my ability to work in a team, becoming more cooperative and understanding of others. Not every research project gets recognition from scientific bodies; only quality research projects can impact their study area. As a participant in the 3rd Annual AARE Conference, I felt empowered. I saw myself as a potential award-winning researcher and vowed to one day to conduct research in my area of expertise and impact the world. This was also enhanced by having my name appear in two research publications as a co-author alongside an award-winning researcher in a life-changing project.

This experience opened my mind to greater possibilities. Encouraged by my experience as a student researcher, the desire to become a great researcher in my field of expertise grew. Undergraduates need to know that every field of study and work requires advancements, and therefore research is inevitable. I would encourage them not to let such chances slip past. The opportunity to participate in research comes with great benefits that are lifelong. The knowledge and skills acquired are long-term investments in one’s life. Students should participate in research as often as possible to gain skills and grow their careers. I would like to thank Dr. Lim for the opportunity and trust she gave us and for allowing us to experience great achievements as student researchers.

LIBRARIAN CORNER - Acquisitions Librarian

The quality of a library’s collections determines its ability to meet the information needs of its users. At Khalifa University, the acquisitions librarian has kept pace with publishing technology that has led to emergence of various formats and generated different acquisition models and payment protocols.

Acquisition practice is broadly defined as “the process of obtaining the library materials that make up the collection of the library&rdquot;. In contrast, collection development is a “process identifying the strength and weakness of the library collection; so, its core task is averting the existing weakness by using filling the gap of the actual needs of the end-users.” Both operations need the continuous checking of existing collections and consulting users about their needs.

Role of Acquisition Librarian: Is it Value-added?

The advent of the Internet and advancements in digital technology promoted e-publishing and the proliferation of e-resources. Both printed and digital formats co-exist at the library to form hybrid collections. The acquisition and management of hybrid resources require a different and more complicated set of skills. Thus, questions are raised: What is the role of acquisition librarians in managing hybrid collections? How are they to gain the expertise necessary for hybrid resources? What core competencies are needed to perform acquisition and collection development?

The core responsibility of the acquisitions librarian is ensuring that the acquisition criteria adopted by the library is applied to acquisitions operations, such as i) title recommendation and selection, ii) selection of vendors, iii) budget allocation, and iv) logistics service (e.g., license review, receiving materials, checking order lists, and informing requesters regarding their selected titles).

Any library that satisfies the information needs of its users must take care with the development and management of its collections. Regardless of the job description, it seems clear that acquisition librarians should take the initiative to gain new professional expertise to remain relevant in the digital age and beyond.

DID YOU KNOW?

  • That Khalifa University will pay the article processing charges for Q1-rated Open Access journal articles? Find out more at https://library.ku.ac.ae/oa/.

  • That KU has signed an agreement with King Abdulaziz University. KU users can now see all the theses from KAU here: https://kaupp.sa/?

  • That the ancient Romans had no concept of the number zero?

  • That after becoming the first person to climb Mount Everest, Sir Edmund Hillary led an expedition to look for the mythical Yeti?

  • That bees can see in ultraviolet?

  • Last Updated Last Updated: Dec 26, 2024 3:01 PM
  • URL: https://library.ku.ac.ae/bookends/vol4iss2
  • Print Page