In addition to the above interactive slides from the September 10 Library Workshop on PubMed v. Embase, you can download the class slides as a PDF here.
PubMed and Embase are two of the most popular research databases for finding medical-related research. This guide will help you understand the two of them and how to conduct searches in each.
Both are prominent medical literature databases that help researchers, healthcare professionals, and students in the fields of medicine, life sciences, and related disciplines. While they share some similarities, they differ in terms of their scope, coverage, and usability. But both make a strong pairing to start your medical research journey.
PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) in the US, is a free medical database. The KU Medical Library offers a version with links to full text: PubMed@KU. It is a comprehensive source for peer-reviewed research, clinical studies, and medical literature. It includes specialized and advanced search features, such as its Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). You can find a more detailed overview from the KU Medical Library of just PubMed at library.ku.ac.ae/pubmed.
Embase is a medical literature database with a bit of a more specialized focus. It includes coverage of pharmaceutical and pharmacological research, drug-related information, drug safety, and pharmacovigilance. It also includes specialized searches including the PICO framework, medical devices, and diseases.
It offers its own set of subject terms, Emtree, that play the same role that MeSH does in PubMed. There is an overview of Embase from the KU Medical Library at library.ku.ac.ae/embase.
Both databases are key resources in medical research. Researchers frequently use both databases to ensure thorough searches in the available medical literature. This guide will help you use both in conjunction as you start your research.