Electrical Engineering: Organizations and Web Resources

• Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
• European Power Electronics and Drives (EPE)
• International Council on Large Electric Systems (CIGRE)
• International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC)
• The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE)
• The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
• Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
• Women's Engineering Society (WES)

A listing of helpful Mechanical Engineering websites is available at: 

• ANSI
• AFNOR
• CEN
• DIN (English version)
• IEC
• ISO 
• ITU
• SAE
• VDI

US Department of Labor. Occupational Employment and Wages.

http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes172041.htm

Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark.

Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry.

Provides access to the full text of IEEE standards from 1988.

• WSSN - World Standards Service Network
  World Standards Services Network (WSSN), is a network of publicly accessible standards organisations around the world. WSSN provides information on international, regional and national standardisation and provides direct links to the web sites of many standards organisations.
  Please note – this is NOT a full-text service.
• NSSN - Search Engine for Standards
  The NSSN search engine gives access to information from standards organisations from around the world. Please note – this is NOT a full-text service.
• Content Online
  Provides links to various free online standards and related information, particularly in the areas of Health and Safety and Construction.
• Industry Standards Online
  Provides links to publicly available catalogues and online standards stores. Not full-text.
• TechStreet
  Provides access to an index of worldwide industry codes and standards. Not full-text.

The Library does not hold copies of patents but many are freely available in full text from the patents sites listed below.