Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Mechanical Engineering Resources: Online Databases

Information sources in Mechanical Engineering that are available through all KU libraries..

Abstract/Index/Full text Databases

Title Years covered Type Formats covered Level
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983 to date Abstracts Journals Introductory
Compendex 1969 to date Abstracts Journals and Conferences Research
DOE Information Bridge Abstracts & Full text Technical Reports Research
Google Scholar Abstracts, Full text, Citations Journals, Conferences, Technical Reports, Dissertations/Theses, Books, Patents, Presentations, Drafts Research
SciFinder Scholar 1900 to date Abstracts & Citations Journals, Conferences, Technical Reports, Dissertations/Theses, Books, Patents Research
SPIN Data & Full text Research Grant Summaries Research
US Patents 1789 to date Full text Patents Research
Web of Science 1965 to date Abstracts & Citations Journals and Conferences Research
WorldCat 1000 BC to date Index Books, Journals, Technical Reports, Dissertations/Theses Introductory

Abstract, Index, Full Text Services

"Abstract services" help you find information systematically by indexing the published documents in specific disciplines. They use consistant indexing practices, are continuously updated, and are compiled by experts. No one service covers all aspects of any discipline; often, using two or three services produces the best results. Some, like the Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, are meant as quick introductions to a topic. Others, like SciFinder Scholar, attempt to find all relevant material. Each of these services has its own interface. Although their Help functions are usually good, it's useful to know what to expect. See the Options tab in Basic Search Techniques.

 

Title

Dates Type Formats Level
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983 to date Index Journals Introductory
Compendex 1969 to date Abstracts Journals & Conferences Research
DOE Information Bridge 1991 to date Abstracts & Full Text Technical Reports Research
Google Scholar   1990 to date Abstracts, Citations, Full Text Journals, Books, Technical Reports, Dissertations/Theses, Patents, Presentations, Drafts Introductory Research
SciFinder Scholar 1907 to date Abstracts Journals, Patents, Technical Reports, Dissertations, Books Research
SPIN Current Grant Summaries Grants Research
US Patents or Google Patents 1790 to date Full Text Patents Research
Web of Science 1965 to date Abstracts & Citations
Journals & Conferences
Note: Lehigh's subscription does not include the conferences
Research
WorldCat or OpenWorldCat
1000 BC to date Index Books, Journals, Technical Reports, Dissertations/Theses, Media Introductory
many more Can't find what you want in the list above? Try the Databases list

 

♦ Google Scholar is not an abstract service in the sense that it "merely" attempts to find scholarly publications on any topic if the publications are online. Much scholarly material is still only in print. "Scholarly" means research organizations (educational, governmental, or industrial), professional societies, and major publishers. There is no method of bringing like material together beyond author names and keywords, so it is easy to find a few items on a topic but impossible to find "most," let alone "all" of them. Google Scholar is best used to find "seed" articles which then can be used in the abstract services to find related material.