Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Mechanical Engineering Resources: Books

Information sources in Mechanical Engineering that are available through all KU libraries..

Books@ your library

Reference Books and Maps are found in the Ground Floor of San campus Habshan Library.

Books with call numbers from A - H are in the Ground Floor, while books with call numbers from K - Z can be found in the First Floor.

Useful Books on Mechanical Engineering

The library’s General Collection has many books that can be borrowed.  Some titles in the Reference Collection, which can’t be borrowed, include encyclopaedias and directories.  These are useful for finding summaries of a particular subject and sometimes for providing references to other material. Listed below is a selection of relevant books, but there are many others. Browse the shelves or check the library’s online catalog.  (* Call numbers with the code HAB are found in Habshan Library. Those with the code ARZ are in the Arzanah Library. Call numbers with the prefix code REF are found in the Reference Collection. )

Companion Guide to the ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code

REF TJ289.R36 2002 HAB

Comprehensive Composite Materials

REF TA418.9.C6.C6344 2008 HAB

Compressor Handbook

REF TJ990.C623 2001 HAB

Concise Encyclopedia of the Properties of Materials Surfaces and Interfaces

REF TA418.7.C66 2008 HAB

Encyclopedia of Energy

REF TJ163.28.E53 2004 HAB

Encyclopedia of Energy Engineering and Technology

REF TJ163.2.S8235 2004 HAB

Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics

REF TA357.E53 HAB

Encyclopedia of Smart Materials

REF TA418.9.S62.E63 2002 HAB

Illustrated Dictionary of Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos

REF QC133.K36 1999 HAB

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering 2nd Edition

REF TA9  .M35 2003 HAB/ARZ

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology

REF Q121 .M3 2007 HAB

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology

REF Q121 .M3 2002 ARZ

Pump Handbook (3rd ed.)

REF TJ900.P79 2001 HAB

Standard Handbook of Machine Design (3rd ed.)

REF TJ230.S8235 2004 HAB

Thermal Constants of Substances

REF TA418.52.T4313 1999 HAB

Buyer's Guides

"Buyer's Guides" are specialized directories for industry. Although some do include the suppliers catalogs, most are actually indexes for finding vendors. Print trade magazines often included annual special issues of buyer's guides; with the advent of the web, most of these have become features on web sites. Although a keyword search in any web search engine will often find something of use, why buyer's guides remain popular is the categorization features and the in-depth expertise behind them.

Note: prices are rarely included in these catalogs