Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

General Chemistry: Apps and Other Media

This subject guide is intended to help you get started doing research in KU libraries and it's designed to match your curriculum and assignments.

General Chemistry Research Apps

These apps are freely available. Some provide the option to access full-text content that is available through the KU libraries subscriptions. Click on the information icon next to the links for instructions.

Chemistry on the Go

Chemistry on the Go: Review of Chemistry Apps on Smartphones (J Chem Ed, published 2/13/2013)

"This review covers about 30 popular and mostly free apps that can be used to learn chemistry and to serve as reference or research tools. The target audience includes students in high school, college, and graduate school, chemical professionals, and teachers".  -- from the abstract.

 

Growing number of chemistry apps is available at the Scientific Mobile Applications wiki. 

 

General Chemistry iTunes Apps

ChemSpider

Search by structure or substance name/identifier to access ChemSpider's database of over +25 million structures.

Mobile-optimized site. Also an iOs app.

ChemJuice

Structure drawing app. Calculate molecular weight, formula and element % composition. Convert grams to moles and vice versa. E-mail structures as molfiles.

App for iOS. $2.99. ChemJuice Grande for iPad only.

ChemDoodle Mobile

Draw and store structures. Calculate properties (molecular formula and mass, hydrogen bond donators and acceptors, logP, etc.), and simulate NMR spectra. Spectra are interactive. App for iOS and Android.

Mobile Reagents

Search 6 million molecules and 11 million product variations from +50 lab chemical suppliers, by structure or chemical name/identifier. Can also search from a picture of structure taken with your iPhone.

App for iOS.

ReactionFlash

Named organic reactions, including mechanisms and published examples. Includes quiz feature.

App for iOS. Free, full access to 10 named reactions, in-app purchase of $9.99 for entire set of +250 reactions.

Periodic Droid

Configurable, customizable Periodic Table. Includes 55 properties for each element.

App for Android

The Elements

An e-book of the Periodic Table, based on Theodore Grey's The Elements. High-resolution content optimized for the iPhone 4 screen.

App for iPhone 4/4s and 4th generation iPod Touch, $9.99. Also available as an iPad app for $13.99.

Organic Chemistry Nomenclature Quizillator

Quizzes for identifying, naming and recognizing organic molecules and functional groups.

Free iOS app for 20 question preview of quizzes and glossary. In-app purchase $0.99 for all 210 questions with cross-referenced glossary.

CatApp

Calculated reaction and activation energies for elementary coupling reactions occurring on metal surfaces can be found by using a web application called CatApp. This tool provides access to data for reactions of molecules with up to three C, N, or O atoms on a number of different transition-metal surfaces. The underlying dataset is generated from a consistent set of DFT calculations and extrapolations based on linear scaling relations.

ChemFormula App

ChemFormula is a molecular formula and weight calculator ideal for students and anyone else who needs to quickly translate arbitrarily complex formulas into empirical formulas with molecular weights. Written by a chemist, it includes support for a large number of common chemical abbreviations, functional groups, and protecting groups. In addition to providing formula analysis, ChemFormula can search several major suppliers for commercial availability.

Chemistry Formulas App

This application provides every possible formula for those studying AP Chemistry. It can be used to build your own formula reference in chemistry. It can store cheat sheets, round-ups, quick reference cards, quick reference guides and quick reference sheets, which can be organized with clicks. Moreover, you can add a description to a label on an image. For example, if you want to add more information about a certain element, you can do that. Next time, when you click on that label, a transparent window will appear with the description you have entered.

Mobile Molecular DataSheet App

The Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS) provides a way to view and edit chemical structure diagrams on an iPhone, iPod or iPad. The unique and innovative sketcher is optimized for the touchscreen interface, and allows professional quality molecular structures to be drawn quickly and efficiently. Molecules are organized in collections of datasheets. Individual molecules, or whole datasheets, can be shared via iTunes or sent by email, using the standard MDL MOL and SDfile formats, which allows the data to be integrated into any external workflow.

Named Reactions Lite App

This is the free version of Named Reactions Pro, which contains 300 organic reactions. Named Reactions Lite contains details on a number of common organic reactions, from Aldol to Wittig. Reactions are fully indexed and searchable, and can be visually browsed through an intuitive “reaction card” view. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism.

Named Reactions Pro App

Details on over 300 organic reactions, from the acetoacetic ester synthesis to the Zincke reaction. Reactions are fully indexed and searchable, and can be visually browsed through an intuitive “reaction card” view. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism.

Named Reactions Student App

Includes all named organic reactions covered in undergraduate chemistry courses. Not only a great study aid, Named Reactions Student is a great app for individuals preparing to take the GRE, the MCAT, and other graduate school standardized admissions exams. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism.

Podcasts

What is a podcast?

It's a package of multimedia files that can be downloaded from the Internet and played on a computer or mobile device.

These are some useful Chemical Engineering podcasts:

Chemical News

Daily News from The Chemistry World Magazine:

Loading ...