Calculated reaction and activation energies for elementary coupling reactions occurring on metal surfaces can be found by using a web application called CatApp. This tool provides access to data for reactions of molecules with up to three C, N, or O atoms on a number of different transition-metal surfaces. The underlying dataset is generated from a consistent set of DFT calculations and extrapolations based on linear scaling relations.
ChemFormula is a molecular formula and weight calculator ideal for students and anyone else who needs to quickly translate arbitrarily complex formulas into empirical formulas with molecular weights. Written by a chemist, it includes support for a large number of common chemical abbreviations, functional groups, and protecting groups. In addition to providing formula analysis, ChemFormula can search several major suppliers for commercial availability.
This application provides every possible formula for those studying AP Chemistry. It can be used to build your own formula reference in chemistry. It can store cheat sheets, round-ups, quick reference cards, quick reference guides and quick reference sheets, which can be organized with clicks. Moreover, you can add a description to a label on an image. For example, if you want to add more information about a certain element, you can do that. Next time, when you click on that label, a transparent window will appear with the description you have entered.
Mobile Molecular DataSheet App
The Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS) provides a way to view and edit chemical structure diagrams on an iPhone, iPod or iPad. The unique and innovative sketcher is optimized for the touchscreen interface, and allows professional quality molecular structures to be drawn quickly and efficiently. Molecules are organized in collections of datasheets. Individual molecules, or whole datasheets, can be shared via iTunes or sent by email, using the standard MDL MOL and SDfile formats, which allows the data to be integrated into any external workflow.
This is the free version of Named Reactions Pro, which contains 300 organic reactions. Named Reactions Lite contains details on a number of common organic reactions, from Aldol to Wittig. Reactions are fully indexed and searchable, and can be visually browsed through an intuitive “reaction card” view. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism.
Details on over 300 organic reactions, from the acetoacetic ester synthesis to the Zincke reaction. Reactions are fully indexed and searchable, and can be visually browsed through an intuitive “reaction card” view. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism.
Includes all named organic reactions covered in undergraduate chemistry courses. Not only a great study aid, Named Reactions Student is a great app for individuals preparing to take the GRE, the MCAT, and other graduate school standardized admissions exams. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism.
Image from: http://www.saffroninteractive.com/solutions/
But what's the best mobile research app of all?
It's your PI librarians, of course!
Remember that you can call us, email us, or see us in person for any research help:
If you need additional help feel free to contact our Library staff at:
02-607-5879 Arzanah or
02-607-5802 Habshan
Library
Email: librarian@pi.ac.ae
Librarians are also available to help you through our chat service, 24/7.