Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL): Resources on SoTL

Please search our Library catalogue under subject "Effective Teaching" or "College Teaching."

Guide to doing SoTL projects from Vanderbilt University is practical and grounded in theory.

SoTL 101 breaks down the life of a SoTL project into eight steps from its conception as an idea to its finality as a publication. 

Boyer, Ernest L. (1990). Scholarship Reconsidered: Priorities of the Professoriate. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Scholarship of Teaching by Eileen Bender and Donald Gray 

Scholarship Reconsidered: Priorities of the Professoriate by Ernest L. Boyer 

Twenty Years On: Ernest Boyer, Scholarship and the Scholarship of Teaching by Peter A.L. Hill 

The Role of SoTL in the Academy: Upon the 25th Anniversary of Boyer's Scholarship Reconsidered by Beth Kern, at all

From teaching to learning: A new paradigm for undergraduate education by Barr, Robert B. & Tagg, John

The Scholarship of Teaching: What’s the Problem? by Randy Bass

How SoTL-active faculty members can be cosmopolitan assets to an institution by Dan Bernstein 

The Scholarship of teaching and learning by Dan Berstein and Randy Bass 

Launching TLI: SoTL’s purposes, processes, and people. by Nancy Chick and Garo Poole 

Going public with pedagogical inquiries: SoTL as a methodology for faculty professional development by Joëlle ​Fanghanel 

Principles of good practice in SoTL by Peter Felten

Scholarship Assessed: Evaluation of the Professoriate by Charles Glassick, Mary Taylor Huber, and Gene Maeroff

The Advancement of Learning: Building the Teaching Commons  by Mary Taylor Huber and Pat Hutchings

Disciplinary Styles in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning: Exploring Common Ground by Mary Taylor Huber and Sherwin Morreale

How should research contribute to instructional improvement? by Catherine Lewis, Rebecca Perry, and Aki Murata

Enhancing Learning through the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning: The Challenges and Joys of Juggling by Kathleen McKinney

Doing it: Examples of several of the different genres of the scholarship of teaching and learning by Craig E. Nelson

The Amateur in the operating room: history and the scholarship of teaching and learning by David Pace

Knowing-in-action: the new scholarship requires a new epistemology by Donald A. Schon

Taking learning seriously by Lee S. Shulman

The Scholarship of teaching: new elaborations, new developments by Lee S. Shulman and Pat Hutchings

Evidence of the impact of scholarship of teaching and learning purposes by Keith Trigwell

• Elon University Initiative on on the Scholarship of Teaching-Learning
• Georgetown Visible Knowledge Project
• International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
• The Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL) – (Center for Teaching, Vanderbilt University)
• The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Illinois State University
• A SoTL Primer from the Taylor Institute of Teaching and Learning

The following Library databases might be useful:

Academic Search Premier  (EBSCO) 
Current; multi-discipline, full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

ACM Digital Library   
1954-present; the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library is a collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. Access is also provided to the ACM guide, which is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the guide.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) 
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages

ERIC   
1966-present; direct access to The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is a digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection has been expanded to include full text of specific articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials. ERIC is also available via the EBSCO interface.

Scopus

• The International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (ISSOTL) is a membership based international society interested in promoting teaching and learning as serious intellectual work. Their goal is to foster inquiry and disseminate findings about what improves and articulates post-secondary learning and teaching.
• The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching  is committed to developing networks of ideas, individuals, and institutions to advance teaching and learning. They join together scholars, practitioners, and designers in new ways to solve problems of educational practice.
• The Higher Education Research and Development Society Australasia is the professional society for university staff interested in SoLT and Higher Education research.

International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (IJ-SoTL)

Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL)

Journal on Excellence in College Teaching (JECT)

College Teaching

Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Council on Undergraduate Research Quarterly

International Journal for Students as Partners

Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Journal on Excellence in College Teaching

Teaching & Learning Inquiry

Teaching in Higher Education

Arts and Humanities in Higher Education

MountainRise

National Teaching and Learning Forum

Teaching Professor

Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning Journal

Various profesional organizations and libraries have compiled lists of SoTL journals searchable by discipline.

These are some of the lists:

NKU's List of Journals, by Discipline

ISSoTL’s publication resources

Mount Royal University's publication resources

Illinois State University’s SoTL resources in the disciplines

University of Central Florida’s list of SoTL journals

University of Wisconsin Milwaukee’s list of publication outlets