The Bridge Between Bioethics and Medical Practice by
This book provides insights into dynamic and complex interrelationships between professionalism and medical practice. It does so by looking into the most relevant and recent theoretical and practical frameworks and by systematizing and integrating extensive and growing literature on medical professionalism. Through honest and prudent contributions from very diverse backgrounds and contexts, this book provides an understanding of medical professionalism derived from a broader historical and cultural context in order to contribute to everyday professional life and practice - the very place of its existence. The book presents the conflicting and sometimes irreconcilable demands and challenges physicians face in everyday practice. A better understanding of these fundamental issues is the only way for medicine to maintain and preserve its unique morality, the same one that enabled its existence in the first place. The book is relevant for everyone immersed and interested in the subject of medical professionalism as a resource, which may ease or guide them through the complexities of issues at hand. It will also contribute to the ongoing debate on medical professionalism, medical ethics, bioethics, and professionalism and ethics in general.
Bringing Evidence into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals by
Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals, Second Edition provides a step-by-step process for learning how to use literature to inform quality practices in an accessible workbook format. Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice simplifies analyzing research through repetition of core strategies and the systematic introduction of increasingly complex techniques for interpreting literature. Students, early career professionals, and interdisciplinary teams alike can build a common language and structure for selecting and evaluating evidence to incorporate into their practices. What's included in Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice:* Worksheets to guide learning, available in print and as writable PDFs online* Ample opportunities to repeat and practice skills* Summary articles, emerging practices, and data collection* How to search databases, examine quality features, and identify the parts of a research article* A library of articles that learners can access from their libraries or the internet Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for supplemental faculty materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals, Second Edition walks readers through each step of reviewing articles in the literature--providing them with a scaffolding of understanding how to evaluate and incorporate evidence into their practice.
Controversies in Medicine and Neuroscience by
This book explores some of the most fascinating medical and life science topics of the 20th and 21st centuries, viewed through the unique perspective of an experienced neurosurgeon and medical historian with a special interest in bioethics, neurobiology, and other aspects of the life sciences. It bridges multiple disciplines in the life sciences―from historic advances in psychosurgery to fascinating advances in neurobiology, such as the neurophysiology of learning and memory, and the neuropharmacology of hallucinogenic drugs. It also discusses intriguing frontal and temporal lobe syndromes in neuropsychiatry, a new hypothesis solving the mystery of Neolithic trepanation, and traditional medical ethics in contradistinction to bioethics.
Dunmore and Fleischer's Medical Terminology: Exercises in Etymology by
From the past to the present...master the language of medicine through its history Take a language-origin approach to mastering medical terminology through the root elements of medical terminology--the prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms from Greek and Latin. Tales from ancient Greek and Latin writers, mythical stories of gods and goddesses, excerpts from the writings of ancient physicians, and modern stories of scientists and physicians who struggled to identify and accurately label the phenomena they observed, make them memorable. Exercises and activities make learning easy. Five Stars. "This book really helped in my class and great for reviewing and practicing. Very simple and not confusing."--Tayler, Online Reviewer Loved this exercise book "...I loved using it to learn the roots. From time to time, I will go to the back of the book where you can look up information very quickly. It has so many interesting stories."--Minnie B., Online Reviewer Updated & Revised! Incorporates the language of medicine today and the Updated! Reflects the currency and accuracy of Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 22nd Edition, the field's most trusted resource. Explores the Greek and Latin grammar that is the basis of medical terminology and common English. Builds understanding with vocabulary lists, etymological notes, and vignettes that provide context. Develops skills with exercises for analyzing and defining words, providing derivations from Greek and Latin roots, defining words from medical discussions, and reviewing vocabulary. Illustrates how to apply the principles of medical terminology to specific body systems with etymological notes as a guide.
Effective Writing for Healthcare Professionals by 
The Evidence-Based Practitioner: Applying Research to Meet Client Needs by
Put the evidence to work for your clients. Become an effective evidence-based practitioner. Master the knowledge and clinical decision-making skills you need to provide the very best care for your clients...based on the evidence. Step by step, you'll learn how to find, read, understand, critique, and apply research evidence in practice. Five Stars! Great Book!"This is an exceptional book for not only OT students but other students in other health profession disciplines as well!"--Online Reviewer Updated! Current evidence and the policies and practices of occupational therapy today Expanded! Statistics coverage in three chapters: Descriptive Statistics: What They Tell You and How to Apply Them in Practice, Inferential Statistics: Tests of Difference, and Inferential Statistics for Relationship Questions New & Expanded! Qualitative research coverage in two chapters: Qualitative Designs: Exploring the Lived Experience and a new chapter, Trustworthiness of Qualitative Studies New! Introduction of the critically appraised paper (CAP) as a concept with a new feature that walks students through completing one Guiding principle of 'Consuming vs. Conducting' research How to write a research question that addresses a relevant practice problem and then how to find, read, and apply evidence to address the question Explanations of the different types of research and the methods and measurements used in each type, including their advantages and disadvantages. 'From the Evidence," excerpts with real data, abstracts, figures and tables from published research and coverage of how to decipher their meaning and apply them in practice "Evidence in the Real World," personal narratives from health professionals who demonstrate using evidence in their practice "Understanding Statistics" boxes Worktext format with "Exercises" that encourage students to apply new concepts in the moment. "Review Questions" at the end of each chapter Answers to questions in the worktext at the end of each chapter
Futurescan 2024: Health Care Trends and Implications by
This highly respected annual guide will help hospital and health system leaders prepare themselves and their organizations for the future. An essential tool for strategic planning, Futurescan 2024 presents articles highlighting the insights of thought leaders on eight key trends:* Workforce* Care in the Home* Sustainability* Population Health* Employer Contracting* Economics* Medicaid* Responsible InnovationThe expert perspectives featured in this latest edition of Futurescan on the transformation of health care are supported by data from a survey of hospital and health system leaders from across the country.
Introduction to Medical Software: Foundations for Digital Health, Devices, and Diagnostics by
Providing a concise and accessible overview of the design, implementation and management of medical software, this textbook will equip students with a solid understanding of critical considerations for both standalone medical software (software as a medical device/SaMD) and software that is integrated into hardware devices. It includes: practical discussion of key regulatory documents and industry standards, and how these translate into concrete considerations for medical software design; detailed coverage of the medical software lifecycle process ; accessible introduction to quality and risk management systems in the context of medical software; succinct coverage of essential topics in data science, machine learning, statistics, cybersecurity, software engineering and healthcare bring readers up-to-speed; six cautionary real-world case studies illustrate the dangers of improper or careless software processes. Accompanied by online resources for instructors, this is the ideal introduction for undergraduate students in biomedical engineering, electrical engineering and computer science, junior software engineers, and digital health entrepreneurs.
Researching Language and Health: A Student Guide by
*the only book to focus on research methods in language and healthcare communication in an accessible textbook format *ideal core text for all courses on healthcare communication and recommended reading for a range of courses in applied linguistics, language for the professions etc; this is a growing area due to increasing focus on communication in professions such as healthcare *foregrounds impact : immediately involves readers in the kinds of questions or issues that are of interest in the field and the impact that linguistic studies can have