A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care, 4th Edition by 
The Bridge Between Bioethics and Medical Practice by
This book provides insights into dynamic and complex interrelationships between professionalism and medical practice. It does so by looking into the most relevant and recent theoretical and practical frameworks and by systematizing and integrating extensive and growing literature on medical professionalism. Through honest and prudent contributions from very diverse backgrounds and contexts, this book provides an understanding of medical professionalism derived from a broader historical and cultural context in order to contribute to everyday professional life and practice - the very place of its existence. The book presents the conflicting and sometimes irreconcilable demands and challenges physicians face in everyday practice. A better understanding of these fundamental issues is the only way for medicine to maintain and preserve its unique morality, the same one that enabled its existence in the first place. The book is relevant for everyone immersed and interested in the subject of medical professionalism as a resource, which may ease or guide them through the complexities of issues at hand. It will also contribute to the ongoing debate on medical professionalism, medical ethics, bioethics, and professionalism and ethics in general.
Bringing Evidence into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals by
Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals, Second Edition provides a step-by-step process for learning how to use literature to inform quality practices in an accessible workbook format. Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice simplifies analyzing research through repetition of core strategies and the systematic introduction of increasingly complex techniques for interpreting literature. Students, early career professionals, and interdisciplinary teams alike can build a common language and structure for selecting and evaluating evidence to incorporate into their practices. What's included in Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice:* Worksheets to guide learning, available in print and as writable PDFs online* Ample opportunities to repeat and practice skills* Summary articles, emerging practices, and data collection* How to search databases, examine quality features, and identify the parts of a research article* A library of articles that learners can access from their libraries or the internet Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for supplemental faculty materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals, Second Edition walks readers through each step of reviewing articles in the literature--providing them with a scaffolding of understanding how to evaluate and incorporate evidence into their practice.
Community and Public Health Education Methods by
Updated to keep pace with this ever-evolving field, the fifth edition of Community and Public Health Education Methods: A Practical Guide teaches students to effectively communicate health education messages and positively influence the norms and behaviors of both individuals and communities. Written by and for health education specialists, this text explores the methods used by health educators, including didactic techniques designed to guide others toward the pursuit of a healthy lifestyle.Divided into four sections, this well-organized guide begins with a focus on building the foundation for selecting and applying community and public health education methods. It then explores acquiring tools necessary for applying community and public health education and health promotion strategies. Section III examines health communication and media, including exploring social marketing concepts, applying health communication skills, using social media, and exploring digital media strategies. The final section focuses on community and advocacy level methods. Key Features:3 new chapters! Applying a Health Literacy Framework (4); Applying Motivational Interviewing Techniques (7); and Exploring Digital Media Strategies (11)Coverage of the latest industry standards, guidelines, and competencies, including the HESPA II CHES competencies.Wholly revised chapter on legislative advocacyDiscussion of health promotion and various techniques including multi-level and multicomponent interventions.Practical examples throughout, including many on COVID-19 Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text and available stand-alone) for convenient online and offline access to the enhanced digital text.
Effective Writing for Healthcare Professionals by 
The Evidence-Based Practitioner: Applying Research to Meet Client Needs by
Put the evidence to work for your clients. Become an effective evidence-based practitioner. Master the knowledge and clinical decision-making skills you need to provide the very best care for your clients...based on the evidence. Step by step, you'll learn how to find, read, understand, critique, and apply research evidence in practice. Five Stars! Great Book!"This is an exceptional book for not only OT students but other students in other health profession disciplines as well!"--Online Reviewer Updated! Current evidence and the policies and practices of occupational therapy today Expanded! Statistics coverage in three chapters: Descriptive Statistics: What They Tell You and How to Apply Them in Practice, Inferential Statistics: Tests of Difference, and Inferential Statistics for Relationship Questions New & Expanded! Qualitative research coverage in two chapters: Qualitative Designs: Exploring the Lived Experience and a new chapter, Trustworthiness of Qualitative Studies New! Introduction of the critically appraised paper (CAP) as a concept with a new feature that walks students through completing one Guiding principle of 'Consuming vs. Conducting' research How to write a research question that addresses a relevant practice problem and then how to find, read, and apply evidence to address the question Explanations of the different types of research and the methods and measurements used in each type, including their advantages and disadvantages. 'From the Evidence," excerpts with real data, abstracts, figures and tables from published research and coverage of how to decipher their meaning and apply them in practice "Evidence in the Real World," personal narratives from health professionals who demonstrate using evidence in their practice "Understanding Statistics" boxes Worktext format with "Exercises" that encourage students to apply new concepts in the moment. "Review Questions" at the end of each chapter Answers to questions in the worktext at the end of each chapter
Futurescan 2024: Health Care Trends and Implications by
This highly respected annual guide will help hospital and health system leaders prepare themselves and their organizations for the future. An essential tool for strategic planning, Futurescan 2024 presents articles highlighting the insights of thought leaders on eight key trends:* Workforce* Care in the Home* Sustainability* Population Health* Employer Contracting* Economics* Medicaid* Responsible InnovationThe expert perspectives featured in this latest edition of Futurescan on the transformation of health care are supported by data from a survey of hospital and health system leaders from across the country.
Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice by
Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice provides a simple, straightforward model for designing effective nutrition education programs that address the personal and environmental influences affecting individuals' food choices and assists them in adopting healthy behaviors throughout their lifetime. Built around the six-step DESIGN process, the Fourth Edition integrates research, theory, and practice and provides advice and direction on designing, implementing, and evaluating theory-based nutrition education. This text is divided into three parts: Part I describes the key elements of success for nutrition education, as well as the major theories that can be used in nutrition education interventions. Part II features the 6-step process for designing nutrition education, translating theory into concrete objectives and strategies that can be practically implemented. It includes worksheets and case studies to provide a clear illustration of each step. Part III describes the nuts and bolts of implementing nutrition education, including information on leading groups, working with diverse populations, making presentations, and using media effectively.