Skip to main content

Mechanical Engineering: Online Databases

Need Help?

If you need additional help feel free to contact the Library staff at:

Phone:

02-401-8132 Main Campus Library

02-607-5879 Arzanah Library

02-607-5802 Habshan Library

02-810-9051 Masdar Library

 

Or email us at;

libse@ku.ac.ae 

Find An Article Using Summon

You can use Summon to find an article.

Search Summon

What is Summon™? 

It is our new unified discovery service. Summon™ allows the researcher to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content. It goes beyond federated search, beyond next-generation catalogs to create an all-new service for libraries. Through one simple Google-like search, it provides instant access to the breadth of authoritative content - digital and print, audio and video, single articles to entire e-journals, etc.

Using Summon (video)

Basic Search Screen

Advanced Search Screen

Find An Article Using Google Scholar

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.



Ebsco Online Tutorials

Use these online tutorials to help you get started in using EbscoHost databases

 

For detalied list of tutorials click here:

EbscoHost Tutorials

 

Science Direct Tutorials

Search Journal Titles

If you are looking for certain citation and would like to get a full text article try searching Journals A-Z to see in which database indexes the journal you are looking for.

Key Library Databases for Mechanical Engineering Research

-Databases are very reliable sources of information that help you trace information from many sources. Common resources are journals, reports, dissertations, conference proceedings and books. The databases contain hundreds of thousands of full-text materials. Many databases can be accessed remotely while some only have on-campus access. Lists of databases are arranged alphabetically and by subject and contain login information.

Compendex
(Accessed via Engineering Village 2)

Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers. With 12 million records across 190 engineering disciplines, Compendex delivers the comprehensive, precise information and insights that researchers need. Available through Engineering Village. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering,Civil Engineering,Electrical Engineering,Mechanical Engineering,Mining Engineering.

EBSCOHost

Also available for access with iPhones, Blackberry’s and other PDA’s thru EBSCOHost on Your Mobile EBSCOHost contains over 14,000 publications (book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and essays). There are also almost 5,000 full-text reviewed journals with some archives back to almost 100 years. EBSCOHost covers numerous topics including education, computer sciences, engineering, environment, history, physics, political science, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies.

Engineering Village 2

It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts starting from 1969 in the applied science, technical and engineering fields including Compendex, INSPEC, and Scirus.

General Science Collection

This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back to 1992.

Institute of Physics (IOP)

The Institute of Physics (IOP) subject coverage includes all aspects of the Science of Physics, Pure and Applied including: Condensed matter and materials science, applied physics, applied mathematics and mathematical physics, measurement science and sensors, plasma physics, optical atomic and molecular physics, and high energy & nuclear physics. The archive includes over 172,000 articles and proceedings of the Physical Society of London since 1874. Incuded with the service are all article abstracts, and every paper published in IOP journals in the last 30 days.

Knovel

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering.

MechanicalENGINEERING netBASE

Searches over 300 textbooks and handbooks on the topic of mechanical engineering. The search engine searches full-text through all books in their database. Easily download full-text PDF files including all original charts, graphs, and diagrams.

Merck Index

The online version of the printed 13th Edition of The Merck Index. It is an internationally recognized, one-volume encyclopaedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Each record discusses a single chemical entity or a small group of very closely related compounds. Updates contain material not yet available in print. 

OnePetro

Contains citations from over 60,000 documents that are published by the American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), NACE International, Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), and World Petroleum Council (WPC). Full-text documents are only available from SPE and OTC.

Petroleum Abstracts

The Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database provides citations and abstracts in the areas of global petroleum exploration and production, transport, and storage. Topics include geology, geophysics, geochemistry, development drilling, well completion, servicing, petroleum recovery, environmental and energy related topics. There are over 1 million entries dating over 50 years. Information is from 300 journals and 200 conference proceedings worldwide, patents, government documents, dissertations, books, etc. There is a concurrent database user limit of four (4) people.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses contains over 1.3 million citations in the Sciences and Engineering disciplines. There are over 1,000 citations of graduate works published before 1900. The database has over 650,000 full-text PDF dissertations and theses including over 400,000 published after 1997.

Science Direct

Elsevier's Science Direct database contains hundreds of thousands of full-text journal articles from over 900 journals in the physical sciences and engineering. Archived coverage is back to volume one, number one for all titles dating back over 60 years in some cases. The eight subject collections are: chemical engineering; chemistry; earth & planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; mathematics; physics & astronomy.

Science Reference Center

This EBSCOHost database contains full text material from nearly nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, journals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, technology and wildlife.

SCIRUS

One of the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.

Web of Science

ISI's Web of Science (WOS) database contains citations and abstracts (with some full-text documents) from over 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Coverage is from 1997 to the present. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions (CCR), and Index Chemicus (IC).

20 Top Mechanical Engineering Journals

Top 20 Mechanical Engineering journals ranked by ISI Thomson's 2011 JCR Impact Factor.

What is Impact Factor?

Impact Factor is the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR (Journal Citation Reports) year. Learn more:

Detailed list is available at:

http://admin-apps.webofknowledge.com/JCR/JCR

  1. Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics
    ISSN 0066-4189
  2. Advances in Applied Mechanics
    ISSN 0065-2156
  3. International Journal of Plasticity
    ISSN 0749-6419
  4. Applied Mechanics Reviews
    ISSN 0003-6900
  5. Journal of Rheology
    ISSN 0148-6055
  6. Communications in Nonlinear Science and Numerical Simulation
    ISSN 1007-5704
  7. Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids
    ISSN 0022-5096
  8. Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering
    ISSN 0045-7825
  9. Numerical Heat Transfer Part A-Applications
    ISSN 1040-7782
  10. Journal of Fluid Mechanics
    ISSN 0022-1120
  11. International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer
    ISSN 0017-9310
  12. International Journal of Multiphase Flow
    ISSN 0301-9322
  13. Energy Conversion and Management
    ISSN 0196-8904
  14. Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering
    ISSN 0960-1317
  15. Computational Mechanics
    ISSN 0178-7675
  16. Applied Thermal Engineering
    ISSN 1359-4311
  17. Archive for Rational Mechanics And Analysis
    ISSN 0003-9527
  18. Numerical Heat Transfer Part B-Fundamentals
    ISSN 1040-7790
  19. Rheologica ACTA
    ISSN 0035-4511
  20. International Journal of Damage Mechanics
    ISSN 1056-7895