Mechanical Engineering: Organizations and Web Resources

• American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
• American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
• American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning (ASHRAE)
• American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
• Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (JSME)
• Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
• Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
• Women's Engineering Society (WES)

A listing of helpful Mechanical Engineering websites is available at:

Matbase

Great resource for mechanical, physical and environmental properties of materials from Delft University of Technology

MatWeb

Material property data

The Engineering ToolBox

Resources, tools, and basic information for engineering and design of technical applications

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

Promotes the art, science & practice of mechanical & multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the world.

iCrank

Many mechanical applications and resources for all levels of users.

Martindale's Calculator's On-Line Center

Calculators, applets, spreadsheets, and other resources for engineering.

ThermoDex

An Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources from the University of Texas.

eFluids

Resource for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research and directly related topics.

Intute - Science, Engineering and Technology

A free online service covering the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science.

The WWW Virtual Library-Engineering

An online catalog of engineering resources.

• ANSI
• AFNOR
• CEN
• DIN (English version)
• IEC
• ISO 
• ITU
• SAE
• VDI

US Department of Labor. Occupational Employment and Wages.

http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes172041.htm

Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark.

Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry.

Provides access to the full text of IEEE standards from 1988.

• WSSN - World Standards Service Network
  World Standards Services Network (WSSN), is a network of publicly accessible standards organisations around the world. WSSN provides information on international, regional and national standardisation and provides direct links to the web sites of many standards organisations.
  Please note – this is NOT a full-text service.
• NSSN - Search Engine for Standards
  The NSSN search engine gives access to information from standards organisations from around the world. Please note – this is NOT a full-text service.
• Content Online
  Provides links to various free online standards and related information, particularly in the areas of Health and Safety and Construction.
• Industry Standards Online
  Provides links to publicly available catalogues and online standards stores. Not full-text.
• TechStreet
  Provides access to an index of worldwide industry codes and standards. Not full-text.

The Library does not hold copies of patents but many are freely available in full text from the patents sites listed below.