Skip to main content

Petroleum Engineering: Online Databases

Find An Article Using Google Scholar

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.



Ebsco Online Tutorials

Use these online tutorials to help you get started in using EbscoHost databases

 

For detalied list of tutorials click here:

EbscoHost Tutorials

 

OnePetro Tutorial

SciFinder Tutorials

EbscoHOST Tutorials

Proquest Platform Tutorials

Tutorials by ProQuest

Search Journal Titles

If you are looking for certain citation and would like to get a full text article try searching Journals A-Z to see in which database indexes the journal you are looking for.

Key Library Databases for Petroleum Engineering Research

Databases are very reliable sources of information that help you trace information from many sources. Common resources are journals, reports, dissertations, conference proceedings and books. The databases contain hundreds of thousands of full-text materials.

Inspec 

This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back to 1992.

Knovel

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering.

OnePetro

Contains citations from over 60,000 documents that are published by the American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), NACE International, Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), and World Petroleum Council (WPC). Full-text documents are only available from SPE and OTC.

Petroleum Abstracts
The Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database provides citations and abstracts in the areas of global petroleum exploration and production, transport, and storage. Topics include geology, geophysics, geochemistry, development drilling, well completion, servicing, petroleum recovery, environmental and energy related topics. There are over 1 million entries dating over 50 years. Information is from 300 journals and 200 conference proceedings worldwide, patents, government documents, dissertations, books, etc. There is a concurrent database user limit of four (4) people.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Sciences & Engineering Collection

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses contains over 1.3 million citations in the Sciences and Engineering disciplines. There are over 1,000 citations of graduate works published before 1900. The database has over 650,000 full-text PDF dissertations and theses including over 400,000 published after 1997.

Science Direct

Elsevier's Science Direct database contains hundreds of thousands of full-text journal articles from over 900 journals in the physical sciences and engineering. Archived coverage is back to volume one, number one for all titles dating back over 60 years in some cases. The eight subject collections are: chemical engineering; chemistry; earth & planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; mathematics; physics & astronomy.

Science Direct Ebooks

Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines, Elsevier publications including those published under the renowned Pergamon and Academic Press imprints, over 10,000 books are now fully integrated with journals, book series, handbooks and reference works on ScienceDirect. Spanning subject collections within the science and technology disciplines, the ScienceDirect eBooks Frontlist collection is an increasingly significant source of relevant, quality content.

Science Reference Center
This EBSCOHost database contains full text material from nearly nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, journals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, technology and wildlife.

Scopus

The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.

Web of Science

ISI's Web of Science (WOS) database contains citations and abstracts (with some full-text documents) from over 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Coverage is from 1997 to the present. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions (CCR), and Index Chemicus (IC).

20 Top Petroleum Engineering Journals


Top 20 Petroleum Engineering journals ranked by ISI Thomson’s 2011 JCR Impact Factor



 

What is Impact Factor?

Impact Factor is the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR (Journal Citation Reports) year. Learn more:


The Thomson Reuters Impact Factor

 

Detailed list is available at:

http://admin-apps.webofknowledge.com/JCR/JCR

 

1.   AAPG Bulletin

      ISSN 0149-1423

2.   Oil & Gas Science and Technology-Revue de IFP Energies nouvelles

      ISSN 1294-4475

3.   Petroleum Geoscience

      ISSN 1354-0793

4.   SPE Journal

      ISSN 1086-055X

5.   SPE Reservoir Evaluation & Engineering

      ISSN 1094-6470

6.   Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering

      ISSN 0920-4105

7.   Journal of Petroleum Geology

      ISSN 0141-6421

8.   Oil Shale

      ISSN 0208-189X

9.   Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology

      ISSN 0007-4802

10. Journal of Geophysics and Engineering

      ISSN1742-2132

11. Journal of Japan Petroleum Institute

      ISSN 1346-8804

12. Petroleum Science

      ISSN 1672-5107

13. Petroleum Chemistry

      ISSN 0965-5441

14. Petroleum Science and Technology

      ISSN 1091-6466

15. SPE Production & Operations

      ISSN 1930-1855

16. Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology

      ISSN 0021-9487

17. Petrophysics

      ISSN 1529-9074

18. SPE Drilling & Completion

      ISSN 1064-6671

19. Oil Gas - European Magazine

      ISSN 0342-5622

20. International Journal of Oil Gas and Coal Technology

      ISSN 1753-3309