Skip to main content

Petroleum Engineering: Organizations and Web Resources

Useful Websites


This is a list of helpful Petroleum Engineering related websites:

 

CSIRO Petroleum

Department of Mines and Petroleum

Minerals Council of Australia (MCA)

Oil and Gas Online

The Schlumberger Oilfield Glossary

Oil & Gas Drilling

 

American Petroleum Institute

Contains information about oil and natural gas for the general public; plus information for oil and natural gas professionals and policy makers.

 
 
Comprehensive list of web sites devoted to petroleum engineering, from operating companies to media sources. See also DMOZ Open Directory Science/Earth Sciences/Geology/Petroleum.

 

An online resource for technical and regulatory information on practices for managing drilling muds and cuttings, including current practices, state and federal regulations, and guidelines for optimal management practices. Funding provided by the U.S.DOE's National Energy Technology Laboratory.

 

Energy Resources Program: Oil and Gas Resources

This USGS Web site contains extensive information on oil and gas resources and the potential for future development in the United States.


 

EngNet Engineering Network

Powerful directory-search engine-buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry.

 

Engineering.com

Excellent online source for engineers of all disciplines. Extensive directory, educator's resources, free tools, forum, career center, directories, and even textbook rentals.

 
Eng-Tips Forums

Popular web site for engineering professionals to exchange ideas and assistance. Online forums include specific disciplines from aeronautics engineering to structural engineering; other forums include hot topics, careers and even a section on proper language usage.

 

Ein.net--Engineering and Technology

A comprehensive subject list of web sites, vendors, and organizations. Directory is divided into very specific areas.

 

GlobalSpec

A leading specialized information services and e-publishing company serving the engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market segments. Newsletters, product listings, broad range of proprietary and aggregated Web-based content.

 

Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

InfoMine is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.

 

OilOnline.com—Your Global Resource for the Oil Industry

News, resources, magazines, e-newsletters, events, etc about the worldwide oil industry.

 

Petroleumengineer.com

Online portal which connects job seekers in related professions with employers and employment recruiters.

 

Society of Petroleum Engineers

International professional organization that is the technical and professional home for all those engaged in all aspects of the upstream oil and gas industry.

 

Scirus

A scientific web search engine for web content, journal content, scientist’s personal websites, courseware, patents, institutional repositories and much more.


TechXtra

TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more.

Statistics

                                                      Source: www.ahrinet.org

 

UAE. National Statistics Office


United States. Energy Information Administration.
Official energy statistics from the US government on petroleum prices, reserves, production, refining and processing, trade, consumption, and sales. Includes some international data.

 

Oil & Gas etrack
Detailed statistical reports on exploration and production in the oil and gas industries.


Proquest Statistical Datasets
Includes petroleum production and pricing data from a variety of sources.


American Petroleum Institute.

Average price of gasoline at the pump, the countries the U.S. imports of oil and product from, state motor fuel tax rates.


World Development Indicators
Economic, social adn environmental data, including oil and gas production and consumption. Data as early as 1960.

 

World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
Includes datasets on energy and resources including oil and petroleum products.


OPEC -- Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries

 

WorldOil.com Statistics and Tables


Annual statistical report / Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries

 

BP Statistical Review of World Energy


EIA Annual Energy Outlook

 

Provides data on fuel resources, energy production and consumption.


IEA Statistics & Balances OECD Member Countries


Middle East and Central Asia databook / edited by Edwards Economic Research Inc.

 

Oil Market Report

 

Statistical yearbook from the International Energy Agency - IEA
Central administration for statistics


U.S. Dept. of Energy, Energy Information Administration, Official Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government


UNdata Energy Statistics Database

 

Directories

Gulf Petrochemicals and Chemical Directory

Search by products, equipment, services support, and corporate information.

Oil and Gas Directory

GCC countries. Search for company, brands, services and products.

Subsea Oil and Gas Directory

Standards

Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark.

Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry.

Provides access to the full text of IEEE standards from 1988.

Standards Search Engines

WSSN - World Standards Service Network

World Standards Services Network (WSSN), is a network of publicly accessible standards organisations around the world. WSSN provides information on international, regional and national standardisation and provides direct links to the web sites of many standards organisations. Please note – this is not a full-text service.

NSSN - Search Engine for Standards

The NSSN search engine gives access to information from standards organisations from around the world. Not full-text.

Content Online

Provides links to various free online standards and related information, particularly in the areas of Health and Safety and Construction.

Industry Standards Online

Provides links to publicly available catalogues and online standards stores. Not full-text.

TechStreet

Provides access to an index of worldwide industry codes and standards. Not full-text.

Digital Maps/Multimedia

                                               Source: www.meed.com

GeoScenic

View and download images from the vast collections of geological photographs in the British Geological Survey.

U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library

This site is designed to provide free viewing and downloading of the entire USGS photographic collection.

Earth Science World Image Bank

Photographs of all aspects of earth science available to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.

EROS Image Gallery

Includes Landsat and Shaded relief images of U.S. States and images from their Earth as Art displays.

Landsat Missions Image Gallery

This site can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.

NOAA Photo Library

Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas.