Skip to main content

Petroleum Engineering: Apps and Other Media

General Engineering Research Apps

These apps are freely available. Some provide the option to access full-text content that is available through the Petroleum Library subscriptions. Click on the information icon next to the links for instructions.

Petroleum Engineering iTunes Apps

   

WellEz Mobile (App Store and Android)


WellEz Mobile takes the convenience and power of WellEz.net and places it in the palm of your hand: View all active wells, Drilling & Completing, View active Workover jobs, Information is updated directly from the field users, Follow daily operations progress and compare with plan, Track daily field costs, View summary information of daily activities.


Schlumberger Oilfield Glossary (App Store)


The Schlumberger Oilfield Glossary is an evergreen, instant reference that takes up no space on your bookshelf and offers many special features: definitions for major oilfield activities, definitions for both the technical generalist and the expert to name but a few features.



Halliburton eChartBook (App Store and Android)


With eChartBook, customers have access to Halliburton's environmental correction algorithms wherever they are, without the need for a computer or an old-fashioned paper chart book. Paper chart books were once the industry norm, but with an increasingly complex array of sensors available, such books become increasingly cumbersome and rapidly fall out of date.

 

Oil and Gas by Arrow Engine Company

             

Get the latest crude oil and natural gas prices in a sleek interface provided by Arrow Engine Company.

Arrow Engine Company provides a wide variety of engine replacement parts and engine accessory products, as well as slow-speed engines, four and six cylinder engines, generator sets, and chemical injector pumps for the oil and gas industry and other industrial engine markets.


Oil and Gas Journal

The Oil & Gas Journal is the first place people look for the latest intelligence on every aspect of the oil and gas industry. OGJ now becomes the first oil and gas industry magazine to bring readers the iPad app. While the initial issue in the app is free, Oil & Gas Journal subscribers will receive the monthly and weekly issues straight to their iPad. The magazines contain technical and specialty articles along with critical news analysis, statistics and our editors' views on what is happening in the oil and gas industry around the world.

 

Oil and Gas News by LOGA

 
 
The free LOGA Oil & Gas App for the iPhone brings you total coverage of the oil & gas industry from a local & national perspective. Finally, a working app for the oil & gas industry is available for the iPhone.

 

Oil & Gas Solutions (Android) $15


Oil & Gas Solutions app is an essential tool to be used in the oilfield. Designed for all people in the oil & gas industry to safely store & manage well information, quickly compute calculations & conversions and easily manage notes & tallys.


INSITE Anywhere® (App Store and Android)

Access real-time information across all aspects of well construction and completion processes.
With well data accessed through INSITE Anywhere® Mobile, you can collaborate with your team in real-time wherever you are, and manage well site situations as they arise. The system works with Halliburton and third-party data, hosting information on a secure site at Halliburton facilities.


American Petroleum Institute (API)

The American Petroleum Institute (API) Android Application is the number one way to connect and stay informed about America's oil and natural gas industry. It allows you to view all API news, statistics, reports, documents, videos, pictures and enables you to share them with your friends using Twitter. This application shows current prices for crude oil, natural gas and the average gasoline prices, a state by state view of taxes on gas and diesel prices and economic impact of the oil and natural gas industry in each state. Pass on the News About API! Spread the message about what API is doing to help America's economy by helping create American jobs, using your social network. Engage with API! Connect with our grassroots networks to stay engaged and to take action on key energy issues.

 

TexasT - Oil & Gas Conversions (App Store)

The TexasT Conversion Calculator is a useful tool for anyone in the Oil and Gas Industry or for general use with day to day to conversions. Areas of conversion include Crude Oil, Ethane, Butane, Petroleum Coke and many more plus the standard Volume, Metric converters. A very simple tool which helps with immediate on the spot requirements.



Baker Hughes Rig Counts (App Store)


This is an interactive map application of Baker Hughes' US rotary rig counts. The Baker Hughes Rig Counts are an important business barometer for the drilling industry and its suppliers. The active rig count acts as a leading indicator of demand for products used in drilling, completing, producing and processing hydrocarbons.


Observations by Synaptor (App Store)

Manage health, safety, and environmental risk in real time. Quickly and easily record safety observations in the field: Stepwise process makes it easy for anyone to use correctly. Include photos and location of hazards and automatically sync to your online database when in network range.

 

History of Petroleum

History of Petroleum contains the history, images and stories about Petroleum and petro industry.

 

Oilfield Pipe Volume (App Store)


This application is designed for the oilfield personnel but can be used by anyone who needs to calculate the inside volume or capacity of pipe. Other Apps created by Texas Apps include: Oilfield Annular Volume, Oilfield Hydrostatic Pressure, Oilfield ECD, Oilfield Volume Conversion



Pipeline Regulations (App Store)


This app has a Selection of pipeline related regulations from CFR 49 including:
Transportation Workplace Drug and Alcohol Testing Programs, Pipeline Safety Programs and Rulemaking Procedures, Transportation of Natural and Other Gas by Pipeline; Annual Reports, Incident Reports, and Safety-Related Condition Reports, Transportation of Natural and Other to name but a few.

OPEC Monthly Oil Market Report

The OPEC Monthly Oil Market Report covers major issues affecting the world oil market and provides an outlook for crude oil market developments for the coming year. The report provides a detailed analysis of key developments impacting oil market trends in world oil demand, supply as well as the oil market balance. The podcast also includes exclusive interviews with key OPEC officials and experts.

Pumper's Friend® (App Store)


This oil field production utility will help pumpers manage their wells more efficiently. Collecting tank and gauge data is easy with the innovative visual interface. Transmitting data to the office is easy, eliminating paper forms. Plotting tank and gauge data makes it simple to view well

 

Petroleum Volume Correction Lt (Android)

 


A Great app for well site calculations. Performs Volume and density corrections for Oil (Petroleum) Products. Chemical Engineering Calculate the volume correction factors for Petroleum Products. Calculations are selectable for Crude Oil, Refined Products or Lubricants.

Podcasts

 

What is a podcast?

It's a package of multimedia files that can be downloaded from the Internet and played on a computer or mobile device.

These are some useful Petroleum Engineering podcasts:

Petroleum Geology by Delft University of Technology

History of Oil

OPEC Monthly Reports