Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Petroleum Geosciences: Books and Dissertations

Interlibrary Loans

The Khalifa University staff, students and faculty have multiple options for Interlibrary Loan that significantly expand the number of materials available to them.

To request a book or an article we don't have in our collection please fill this request form:

Interlibrary Loan Request Form

If you have any questions regarding your request, send an email to ill@ku.ac.ae

eBooks

Knovel

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering. Nanotechnology collection has been recently added.

Knovel requires each user to create their personal log-in to access this collection of eBooks.

Science Direct Ebooks

Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines,books are now fully integrated with journals, book series, handbooks and reference works on ScienceDirect. Spanning subject collections within the science and technology disciplines, the ScienceDirect eBooks Frontlist collection is an increasingly significant source of relevant, quality content.

Subject Search

You will find books and other material of interest and relevance to Petroleum Geosciences in different areas throughout the Library. Listed below are popular terms that are used in the study of Geosciences subjects. Note that some words are related and are found near each other on the shelves.

Data Analysis

Dynamic Structural Geology

Earth Sciences

Earthquakes

Environmental Sciences

Fossils

Geochemical Modeling

Geochemistry

Geography

Geological Surveys

Geology

Geomorphology

Geophysics

Geostatistics

GIS Geographical Information System

Magnetic Properties

Mathematical Geography

Mathematical Modeling & 3D Visualization

Oceanography

Oil Reservoir Engineering

Palaeontology

Petrophysics

Physical Geography

Remote Sensing

Reservoir Characterization

Rock Properties

Rocks

Sedimentary Basins

Sedimentology

Seismology

Stratigraphy

United Arab Emirates Maps

Well Logs

 

Your Library Account/Renew Books

To check your library account and renew library materials you checked out please go to:

My Account

Search Library Catalogue

To search for books, refrence books, DVD, software and other items available in the Petroleum Institute libraries please go to the Library Catalog:

Library:      Power Search

Petroleum Geosciences Reference Books

Useful Call Numbers

Books and other material of interest and relevance to Physical Chemistry can be found in different areas throughout the Library. Listed below are important Library of Congress Call Number (LCCN) areas that are used in the study of Chemistry. A brief outline that explains the LCCN and subject headings is available from the PI Library website (http://www.pi.ac.ae/library/images/documents/lcc.pdf). A more detailed list is available from the Library of Congress at http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco.

G1 – 922              Geography/Earth Sciences

G70.2 – G70.3     GIS Geographical Information System
G70.3                   Remote Sensing
GA1 – 776            Mathematical Geography
GB3 – 5030          Physical Geography
GB400-649           Geomorphology
GB1001.72.G44   Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB1201                Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB1401                Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB1801                Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB2201                Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB2401                Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB260                  Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GB2801                Geophysical Well Logging (hydrology, ground & surface waters)
GC1-1581             Oceanography
GE1-350               Environmental Sciences
QE 1-699              Geology
QE701-760           Fossils/Palaeontology
QC801-809           Geophysics
QE420-456           Petrophysics/Petrology
QE48-49               Data Analysis
QE471-499           Sedimentology
QE640-699           Stratigraphy
QE471-499           Rock Properties
QE500-639           Dynamic Structural Geology
QE33.2.S82          Geological Statistical Methods
QE539.2.S73        Volcanoes & Earthquakes
QE531-545           Earthquakes/Seismology
QE 431.6.M3        Petrology Magnetic Properties
QE615                  Sedimentary Basins
QE515.5               Geochemical Modeling
QE515.5.5            Remote Sensing
QE33.2                 Remote Sensing
QE539.2               Remote Sensing
QE501.4               Remote Sensing
QE514-516           Geochemistry
TN870.53-.57       Oil Reservoir Engineering Mathematical Modeling &                           3D Visualization
TN871.35              Petroleum Engineering Well Log
TN871                   Reservoir Characterization

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Theses, dissertations and student projects in the Petroleum Institute (coming soon!)

Theses and dissertations from other institutions:

EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Abstracts

1861 to date, with abstracts from July 1980. Covers over 2,700,000 titles.
This database has a US-bias and is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research in the US.

Australasian Digital Theses Program

A distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. Full text of some theses is available.

Theses Canada Portal

The access point for Canadian theses and information about the Theses Canada program. Full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations are available.

DART-Europe

Access to over 100,000 full-text research theses from various European countries

Library Hours

Library Hours