Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Petroleum Geosciences: Online Databases

Find An Article Using Google Scholar

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.



Ebsco Online Tutorials

Use these online tutorials to help you get started in using EbscoHost databases

Introduction to EbscoHost

Basic search

Advanced Search -- Guided

Setting up a personal folder

Creating journal alert

Creating search alert

 

For detalied list of tutorials click here:

EbscoHost Tutorials

 

Scholary vs. Popular Jounals

Search Journal Titles

If you are looking for certain citation and would like to get a full text article try searching Journals A-Z to see in which database indexes the journal you are looking for. Some of the journals are listed here: Petroleum Geosciences.

Key Library Databases for Petroleum Geosciences Research

 

Databases are very reliable sources of information that help you trace information from many sources. Common resources are journals, reports, dissertations, conference proceedings and books. The databases contain hundreds of thousands of full-text materials.

GeoRef

Geosciences database contains over 2.8 million bibliographic records. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.

GeoScienceWorld

A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.

Energy and Power Source

Energy & Power Source™ is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, encompassing all component industries within, including those focused on coal, electrical power, natural gas, nuclear power, petroleum and renewable energy.

Environment Complete
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

 

Another EBSCOHost database that covers ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution & waste management, and environmental technology. The database contains more than 1,772,000 citations from more than 1,680 journal titles as well as more than 100 books. The database also contains full text articles from more than 650 journals.

 

General Science Collection
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

 

This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back to 1992.

 

Knovel

 

Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering.

 

OnePetro

 

Contains citations from over 60,000 documents that are published by the American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), NACE International, Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), and World Petroleum Council (WPC). Full-text documents are only available from SPE and OTC.

 


Petroleum Abstracts
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

 

The Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database provides citations and abstracts in the areas of global petroleum exploration and production, transport, and storage. Topics include geology, geophysics, geochemistry, development drilling, well completion, servicing, petroleum recovery, environmental and energy related topics. There are over 1 million entries dating over 50 years. Information is from 300 journals and 200 conference proceedings worldwide, patents, government documents, dissertations, books, etc. There is a concurrent database user limit of four (4) people.

 

Petroleum Intelligence Weekly

 

This weekly newsletter is published by Energy Intelligence Group and the full archives back to 1963 is available online Content contains industry news from various countries. Entire issues can be downloaded as a PDF or articles can be viewed and downloaded as HTML files.

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Sciences & Engineering Collection

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses contains over 1.3 million citations in the Sciences and Engineering disciplines. There are over 1,000 citations of graduate works published before 1900. The database has over 650,000 full-text PDF dissertations and theses including over 400,000 published after 1997.

 

Science Direct

 

Elsevier's Science Direct database contains hundreds of thousands of full-text journal articles from over 900 journals in the physical sciences and engineering. Archived coverage is back to volume one, number one for all titles dating back over 60 years in some cases. The eight subject collections are: chemical engineering; chemistry; earth & planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; mathematics; physics & astronomy.

 

Science Direct Ebooks

 

Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines, Elsevier publications including those published under the renowned Pergamon and Academic Press imprints, over 10,000 books are now fully integrated with journals, book series, handbooks and reference works on ScienceDirect. Spanning subject collections within the science and technology disciplines, the ScienceDirect eBooks Frontlist collection is an increasingly significant source of relevant, quality content.

 

Science Reference Center
(Accessed via EBSCOhost)

 

This EBSCOHost database contains full text material from nearly nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, journals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, technology and wildlife.

 

Scifinder

 

This CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) database includes references from over 9,500 currently published journals. Patent citations come from over 50 active patent issuing authorities with some discoveries dating back to 1900. The latest scientific breakthroughs are referenced and include biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and a large collection of organic and inorganic substance information. Online registration required first for on-campus access only.

 

Scirus

 

One of the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

 

Scopus

 

The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.

 

Web of Science

 

ISI's Web of Science (WOS) database contains citations and abstracts (with some full-text documents) from over 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Coverage is from 1997 to the present. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions (CCR), and Index Chemicus (IC).

 

20 Top Petroleum Engineering Journals

Top 20 Geosciences journals ranked by ISI Thomson's 2011 JCR Impact Factor.

What is Impact Factor?

Impact Factor is the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR (Journal Citation Reports) year. Learn more:

Detailed list is available at:

http://admin-apps.webofknowledge.com/JCR/JCR

Detailed list is available at:

http://admin-apps.webofknowledge.com/JCR/JCR

  1. Nature Geoscience ISSN 1752-0894
  2. Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences ISSN 0084-6597
  3. Gondwana Research ISSN 1342-937X
  4. Earth-Science Reviews ISSN 0012-8252
  5. Global Biogeochemical Cycles ISSN 0886-6236
  6. Geobiology ISSN 1472-4677
  7. Qaternary Science Science Reviews ISSN 0277-3791
  8. Biogeosciences ISSN 1726-4170 
  9. Geophysical Research Letters ISSN 0094-8276
  10. Geological Society of America Bulletin ISSN 0016-7606
  11. Climate of the Past ISSN 1814-9324
  12. Progress in Physical Geography ISSN 0309-1333
  13. Paleoceanography  ISSN 0883-8305
  14. Cryosphere ISSN 1994-0416
  15. Geoscientific Model Development ISSN 1991-959X 
  16. Journal of the Geological Society ISSN 0016-7649
  17. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences ISSN 1027-5606
  18. Precambrian Research ISSN 0301-9268
  19. Biogeochemistry ISSN 0168-2563
  20. Landscape Ecology ISSN 0921-2973