Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Petroleum Geosciences: Organizations and Web Resources

Statistics

Source: www.geosociety.org

 

UAE. National Statistics Office.

United States. Energy Information Administration.
Official energy statistics from the US government on petroleum prices, reserves, production, refining and processing, trade, consumption, and sales. Includes some international data.

OECD iLIbrary

Detailed international data on oil, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development, world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. For forecasts, also see World Energy Outlook.

Oil & Gas etrack
Detailed statistical reports on exploration and production in the oil and gas industries.

Proquest Statistical Datasets
Includes petroleum production and pricing data from a variety of sources.

American Petroleum Institute. Average price of gasoline at the pump, the countries the U.S. imports of oil and product from, state motor fuel tax rates.

World Development Indicators
Economic, social adn environmental data, including oil and gas production and consumption. Data as early as 1960.

World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
Includes datasets on energy and resources including oil and petroleum products.


OPEC -- Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries

WorldOil.com Statistics and Tables

Annual statistical report / Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries

BP Statistical Review of World Energy

EIA Annual Energy Outlook

Provides data on fuel resources, energy production and consumption.

IEA Statistics & Balances OECD Member Countries

Middle East and Central Asia databook / edited by Edwards Economic Research Inc.

Oil Market Report

Statistical yearbook From International Energy Agency - IEA
Central administration for statistics

U.S. Dept. of Energy, Energy Information Administration, Official Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government

UNdata Energy Statistics Database

 

Standards

Standards are codes of best practice containing technical specifications and guidelines. They are used to ensure uniformity and consistency, reliability and safety and provide a quality benchmark.

Many standards are produced by national bodies, but some are produced internationally or by industry.

Provides access to the full text of IEEE standards from 1988.

Standards Search Engines

WSSN - World Standards Service Network

World Standards Services Network (WSSN), is a network of publicly accessible standards organisations around the world. WSSN provides information on international, regional and national standardisation and provides direct links to the web sites of many standards organisations.
Please note – this is NOT a full-text service.

NSSN - Search Engine for Standards

The NSSN search engine gives access to information from standards organisations from around the world. Please note – this is NOT a full-text service.

Content Online

Provides links to various free online standards and related information, particularly in the areas of Health and Safety and Construction.

Industry Standards Online

Provides links to publicly available catalogues and online standards stores. Not full-text.

TechStreet

Provides access to an index of worldwide industry codes and standards. Not full-text.

Patents

The Library does not hold copies of patents, but many are freely available in full text from the patents sites listed below.

 

Directories

Gulf Petrochemicals and Chemical Directory

Search by products, equipment, services support, and corporate information.

Oil and Gas Directory

GCC countries. Search for company, brands, services and products.

Digital Maps/Multimedia

GeoScenic

View and download images from the vast collections of geological photographs in the British Geological Survey.

U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library

This site is designed to provide free viewing and downloading of the entire USGS photographic collection.

Earth Science World Image Bank

Photographs of all aspects of earth science available to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.

EROS Image Gallery

Includes Landsat and Shaded relief images of U.S. States and images from their Earth as Art displays.

Landsat Missions Image Gallery

This site can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.

NOAA Photo Library

Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas.