- Library Home
- Library Home
- Resources
- Resources
- Services
- Services
- Information
- Information
- Webforms
- Webforms
KU Medical Library
KU Medical Librarian: Jason Fetty - jason.fetty@ku.ac.ae - x4722 - Office: Library E02057
Medical Library Resources
| Embase | PubMed@KU |
| UpToDate | UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) |
Library Search:
To search across the KU Library's collections including books, journals, and articles please go to Library Search. You can also manage your library account (renew books, etc.) from there.
Medical Library Resources:
For the full list of Medical Library resources including links to useful free online sources click here or on the image below:
Resources by Type:
Online Medical Library Guides
To get started with using the Medical Library click here or on the image below for a brief tutorial:
Contact + Help
KU Medical Librarian: Jason Fetty - jason.fetty@ku.ac.ae - x4722 - Office: Library E02057
Your KU Medical Librarian, Jason Fetty, is available to help with a range of library, research, and citation topics including:
| Library Search | Interlibrary Loan |
| Library Team | About the Library |
Current Medical Library Newsletter:
Medical Library FAQs:
The Physical Library
The physical library is located in the "E" building on the main campus. There is also a library on the SAN campus. The library is spread over three floors:
- 1st Floor: Main entrance and information desk, computers, printers, group study rooms
- 2nd Floor: Medical librarian office (E02057), study space, group study rooms, library classrooms
- 3rd Floor: Medical study space (seen in the image below), medical and main book collections, study space
RefWorks Citation Management Tool
RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool that helps you collect, organize, and format citations in many different styles including APA, Vancouver, and AMA.
- To sign up for an account using your KU email go to https://refworks.proquest.com/signup/email/
- Information on KU's RefWorks account can be found here
- You can work through a medical-oriented tutorial here
- To get help with using and learning RefWorks please reach out to jason.fetty@ku.ac.ae
General & Medical Library News
Find the PDF below for the latest and previous KU Medical Library newsletters. You can find the general library newsletter, Bookends, at library.ku.ac.ae/newsletter/. Upcoming library events, including workshops, can be found at kustar.libcal.com/calendar/events/.
Selection of New Book Titles
Below are a brief selection of titles related to medicine added to the collection. To search the entire collection of print books and e-books please go the Library's Primo search. For a longer list of new titles please go to the KU Medical New Books Guide.
Bringing Evidence into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals by
Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals, Second Edition provides a step-by-step process for learning how to use literature to inform quality practices in an accessible workbook format. Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice simplifies analyzing research through repetition of core strategies and the systematic introduction of increasingly complex techniques for interpreting literature. Students, early career professionals, and interdisciplinary teams alike can build a common language and structure for selecting and evaluating evidence to incorporate into their practices. What's included in Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice:* Worksheets to guide learning, available in print and as writable PDFs online* Ample opportunities to repeat and practice skills* Summary articles, emerging practices, and data collection* How to search databases, examine quality features, and identify the parts of a research article* A library of articles that learners can access from their libraries or the internet Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for supplemental faculty materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Bringing Evidence Into Everyday Practice: Practical Strategies for Health Care Professionals, Second Edition walks readers through each step of reviewing articles in the literature--providing them with a scaffolding of understanding how to evaluate and incorporate evidence into their practice.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781638220718Publication Date: 2023
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy by
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy A guide to conducting systematic reviews of test accuracy In Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy, a team of distinguished researchers deliver the official guide to preparing and maintaining systematic reviews of test accuracy in healthcare. This first edition of the Handbook contains guidance on understanding test accuracy measures, search strategies and study selection, understanding meta-analysis and risk of bias and applicability assessments, presentation of findings, and drawing conclusions. Readers will also find: An introduction to test evaluation, including the purposes of medical testing, test accuracy and the impact of tests on patient outcomes Comprehensive explorations of the design of test accuracy studies, including discussions of reference standards and comparative test accuracy studies Considerations of the methods and presentation of systematic reviews of test accuracy Elaboration of study selection, data collection, and undertaking risk of bias and applicability assessments Perfect for medical practitioners and clinicians, Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy will also benefit professionals in epidemiology and students in related fields.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781119756163Publication Date: 2023
Digital Health Entrepreneurship by
This extensively revised book is an essential hands-on resource for all involved in digital health innovation and presents an entrepreneurship roadmap for digital health entrepreneurs and medical professionals who are contemplating getting involved. It represents a key resource to maximize the reader's knowledge when investing in this area. Topics covered include regulatory affairs featuring detailed guidance on the legal environment, protecting digital health intellectual property in software, hardware and business processes, financing a digital health start up, cybersecurity best practice and digital health business model testing for desirability, feasibility and viability. Digital Health Entrepreneurship is directed towards clinicians and other digital health entrepreneurs and stresses an interdisciplinary approach to product development, deployment, dissemination and implementation. It therefore provides an ideal resource for medical professionals across a broad range of disciplines seeking a greater understanding of digital health innovation and entrepreneurship.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9783031339011Publication Date: 2023
Effective Writing for Healthcare Professionals by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781032537023Publication Date: 2023
Training to Change Practice: Behavioural Science to Develop Effective Health Professional Education by
Behavioural science to develop effective health professional education serves as a practical guide in the cutting-edge area of health professional education and behavioural science. This textbook will provide practical evidence-based guidance to enhance the real world impact of your health professional training, To aid in seamless reader comprehension, chapters work through clear step by step stages, with boxes to verify understanding, along with examples to work through and links to further reading if readers want to understand more about underlying theory. The book also contains a series of templates which can be adapted for use by the reader. Sample topics covered in Behavioural Science to develop effective health professional education include: Education and training as a behaviour change intervention, covering language of learning and behaviour change, with examples of behaviour change intervention approaches Defining the behaviours that you want to change, intended behavioural outcomes (IBOs), and specifying your IBOs Exploring the influences on behaviours, covering Influences on practice, and how to explore influences on each IBO Developing training to change behaviour, covering active ingredients of behaviour change activities, and the process of creating behaviourally informed training For postgraduate and undergraduate health professional courses, continuing professional development providers, and providers of health professional training in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and allied health professions, Behavioural Science to develop effective health professional education is an essential resource on the subject that helps make education and training more effective.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781119833482Publication Date: 2023
To request a title please reach out to your medical librarian at jason.fetty@ku.ac.ae
