KU Medical Library Orientation

The KU library offers a range of databases for finding articles from academic journals, trade publications, and popular magazines in different disciplines, including medicine. There are two main lists of KU databases:

• Medical E-Resources: This list of databases includes all of KU's medical focused databases, general databases that include health-related topics, and some free resources that are useful for medical students and professionals.
• General E-Resources: KU databases cover many topics including business, education, the sciences and more. Note that not all of the library's medical resources are listed here.

What is a database?

"Database" is a library term that has a meaning that might not be readily apparent. Basically, a library database is a searchable collection or index of published articles citations (among other things). KU's database collection contains articles, ebooks, and health information on topics like drugs, clinical diagnosis, and patient care.

Databases are more powerful than Google and Google Scholar, and databases are focused on high-quality sources. So, while Google might seem easier, article databases will provide better, more focused results that are much easier to sort through and find what you need. Also, the databases will provide access to freely available full-text articles, whereas Google might point you to websites where you are expected to pay to access an article. (And don't forget KU's ILL!)

Where do I find full-text?

Databases often provide access to full-text articles. Look for the PDF or HTML link to access the article. If both PDF and HTML links are available, use the PDF article as it is formatted for saving and printing. If the article is not available as full text, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) or by emailing the medical librarian, Jason.

Good databases to start with:

• Study resources: AccessMedicine
• Article research: PubMed
• Clinical support: UpToDate
• Patient information: MedlinePlus