Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Mechanical Engineering Resources: Online Databases

Information sources in Mechanical Engineering that are available through all KU libraries..

Databases

Databases are very reliable sources of information that help you trace information from many sources.  Common resources are journals, reports, dissertations, conference proceedings and books. The databases contain hundreds of thousands of full-text materials.  Many databases can be accessed remotely while some only have on-campus access.  Lists of databases are arranged alphabetically and by subject and contain log in information.  Type the word YOURLIB in your internet browser (if you are on campus).  Or visit the Horizon Library Catalog Portal http://library.pi.ac.ae/ if you are off campus (these publicly accessible database lists contain no login details).

EZproxy

EZProxy enables you to login to the Library's online databases even if you are off-campus.

Online Databases on Mechanical Engineering

EBSCOHost.  Also available for iPhones, Blackberry’s and other PDA’s thru EBSCOHost on Your Mobile EBSCOHost contains over 14,000 publications (book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and essays). There are also almost 5,000 full-text reviewed journals with some archives back to almost 100 years. EBSCOHost covers numerous topics including education, computer sciences, engineering, environment, history, physics, political science, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies.  Off-campus access.

Engineering Village 2  It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts starting from 1969 in the applied science, technical and engineering fields including Compendex, INSPEC, and Scirus. Off-campus access.

General Science Collection  This EBSCOHost database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back to 1992. Off-campus access.

Knovel  Knovel contains over 1,800 full-text science books from various publishers. Some titles have interactive features. Topics include earth sciences, chemical, electrical, and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering. Off-campus access.

MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE  Searches over 200 textbooks and handbooks on the topic of mechanical engineering. The search engine searches full-text through all books in their database. Easily download full-text PDF files including all original charts, graphs, and diagrams.  On-campus access only.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses ProQuest Dissertations & Theses contains over 1.3 million citations in the Sciences and Engineering disciplines. There are over 1,000 citations of graduate works published before 1900. The database has over 650,000 full-text PDF dissertations and theses including over 400,000 published after 1997. Off-campus access.

Science Direct   Elsevier's Science Direct database contains hundreds of thousands of full-text journal articles from over 900 journals in the physical sciences and engineering. Archived coverage is back to volume one, number one for all titles dating back over 60 years in some cases. The eight subject collections are: chemical engineering; chemistry; earth & planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; mathematics; physics & astronomy. On-campus access only.

Science Reference Center This EBSCOHost database contains full text material from nearly nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, journals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, technology and wildlife. Off-campus access.

Web of Science ISI's Web of Science (WOS) database contains citations and abstracts (with some full-text documents) from over 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Coverage is from 1997 to the present. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions (CCR), and Index Chemicus (IC). On-campus access only.